jianantonic: (Default)
[personal profile] jianantonic
Today is going to be quite the long day, so I'm doing my lj thing before it gets too crazy and I don't have a chance to later.

I played last night with Ann, and Ahren got paired up with Chris. I'd played a few sessions with Chris in the sectional, so I gave Ahren his card to study and went over some of the new stuff with him before game time. There were 9 pairs, so we all played 24 boards and had a 3 board sitout, but we played everyone. Ann and I started off against Chris and Ahren and we bid and made 6H on the first board. The next board, Chris bid and made 6N, and on the board after that, 6D. Crazy. The very next round, we had two more slam bids, but those did not fare so well.

We played pretty well together - great defense all night, and just two offensive errors due to bad guessing. Neither of these cost us terribly, though, and we had only a very few boards that were < Average+. What did cost us was playing against the newbies. There were two pairs of easybridgers there. We manhandled the first as well as we could, but we didn't really have great cards, so I think those boards were relatively flat no matter who your opponents were. The second set of fresh meat got an incredibly unfair break. N opens 1H, S has 17HCP and 4 hearts, and doesn't even try for slam. They stop in 4H, and we hold them there. Everyone else who played it bid 6 and went down 1, so we're stuck with a bottom board even though we took one more trick than any other defending team. Bastards. That one board ended up the difference. Paul and Mary Frances ran away with first place, but second place was decided by less than one board. We took third, and guess which assholes squeaked by us for 2nd? Fucking Ahren and Chris. Goddammit. I heard about that all night. And all morning. Fucking noobs. It's their fault. On one board against the docs (who weren't really on their game tonight - they finished uncharacteristically low in 4th), Ann opened 1N, and I have a pancake flat hand with 3 aces and a bunch of crap - maybe 8 high after all the aces. I bid 3N and we leave it there. Ann brilliantly guessed a void and finessed a seven (or something like that) for an extra trick and we made 4 when even your most solid players will usually only make 3. When we opened the traveler, we saw that pair 2 (Ahren) had bid 3 and made 6! There is no way. Turns out, he was playing against the easybridgers on that hand, and they spoonfed him overtricks. Blah. I don't mind not winning; we certainly played well enough to win - it was just bad luck that kept us out of first. What gets me is fucking losing to Ahren. Ugh.

So this morning, Ahren and I are sitting at the breakfast table drinking milk, and he was holding his cup in a very gay, gay way, like he always does, pinkie finger delicately lifted from the glass. I started waving my pinkies around making fun of him, and he finally noticed what I was doing.
A: What? I'm having drinks with the queen.
M: No, I'm having drinks with the queen, apparently.

Peace.

Profile

jianantonic: (Default)
Meg

February 2019

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
1718192021 2223
2425262728  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 03:01 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios