jianantonic: (Default)
[personal profile] jianantonic
Yesterday was pretty fantastic. We met up with some more friends of Ahren's - I met so many people this weekend - at the MOA for lunch after picking up a Wild t-shirt and hat for me and a Pierre-Marc Bouchard jersey and hat for Ahren. I shopped a little bit more, but Ahren wouldn't even come inside most stores (because he's a punk) and I wasn't even interested in more clothes, so we didn't stay too long. When we left the mall, the rain that's been going on ever since I landed finally turned to snow, and I got my first taste of a real Minnesota winter. You know what? All you yanks who talk about how southerners can't drive in the snow and we're such sissies, blah blah blah - you can suck it. Snow is snow and it fucks with your car, and after watching about 45 cocky Minnesotans run themselves off the road, and after Ahren lost control of his car and sent us hard into a curb, I've realized that really you're not better at driving in the snow, you're just better at rolling with the punches. We sissy southerners don't wreck or fly out of control nearly as often - because we're an appropriate level of careful. Jesus.

But anyway the snow does pile up here quite a bit faster than it does in the Old Dominion, and I was rather impressed with the winter wonderland look of it all. We drove back to Ahren's parents' house and picked up his sister, who would be meeting a date at the hockey game we were also attending. The snow really slowed us down, and we made it to the game just in time for the puck to drop. Our seats? Holy shit. We were just a little bit inside of even with the Minnesota goal line, and seated in row 13. The seats were fantastic! I've said it before and I'll say it again. Bri=my new favorite person in the world. Watching hockey live is much easier than following it on TV, and I had an awesome time. I got really into it, and while the person I had long ago decided would be my favorite player had a really shitty game, I found myself getting really psyched every time Derek Boogaard, the Wild enforcer, came onto the ice. Sadly, the Ducks are a bunch of sissies and they backed down from every fight challenge like a bunch of girls. They did have a zillion penalties to something like only three or four on the Wild, and Bouchard and Rolston scored back to back power play goals in the second period to come from behind and take the lead. Ahren was excited because having picked up the Bouchard jersey, he solidified his favorite player status, and Bouchard did not disappoint. He had another goal late in the second, and we were excited but a little concerned that we'd have to give up our new hats on account of a hat trick. I told Ahren I wasn't throwing my new hat on the ice and he gave me this look like "You'll never understand," to which I gave a look that told him "I paid for these hats and if you throw yours onto the ice you'll be sorry." The Ducks managed to score a couple more goals to tie it, but late in the game, Mark Parrish scored the gw goal for the Wild and a good time was had by all.

The band we'd seen on Friday night was hosting a New Year's Eve party in St Paul, so after we dropped Jo off we headed to pick up some of Ahren's friends for that. The transportation of friends turned into a huge debacle, but it was settled for the most part in time for the countdown. It felt weird being in the central time zone, knowing that my friends and family had already rung in the new year an hour earlier, and I had a moment of EST pride when everyone started counting down. I was all "I'm so ahead of you guys." ;) We sang Auld Lang Syne and some drunk people set off some really crazy fireworks in the snow. Some stoned guy kept subtly hitting on me, and there was a dude who looked exactly like John Lennon there. Seein' as how the party was hosted by a band, there was lots of singing and harmonizing and a good time was had by all. We left shortly after midnight, though (which, hello, was really 1am - these central people are so behind the times) because today we are driving back to Virginny. And by we I mean Ahren.

I knew I was coming to a big city, but having grown up familiar with the DC area, I felt like I knew what to expect - and that it would be smaller/slower than DC. I was wrong. Minneapolis/St. Paul is like a jumbled web of freeways. It's as though a very uncoordinated child took a blue crayon to a map of Minnesota and those crayon tracings became the very, very, very busy roads. Basically anywhere one drives here, one must take a series of interstates, and let's just say it intimidates the shit out of me. I doubt I'll ever drive here. Seriously. But their public transportation leaves a lot to be desired, too, and nothing is convenient to anything. I've had a good time and I like it here but my god the roads. They suck. And there is too much driving.

I woke up in a very unpleasant manner this morning, and it's unlikely I'll be able to fall asleep again any time soon, so I took the opportunity to update this here journal thing while Ahren keeps sleeping, which he needs to do since he will be the driver probably the whole way back to VA.

Peeking out the window to my hotel room, it looks as though the sun has finally made an appearance in MN - I haven't seen it since I left Virginia. I'll be glad to be back, but I am sad to leave here.

Peace.

Date: 2007-01-01 04:11 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] pwylltwiceborn.livejournal.com
If (when) I gripe about snow and roads in the south...it's a)because everything shuts down unnecessarily and b)because the cities don't know how to deal with it. (e.g., Williamsburg sands the roads instead of salting...)

Date: 2007-01-03 11:14 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] flamingophoenix.livejournal.com
You forgot c) nobody here knows how to drive in it. (I unabashedly admit that this includes me.)

Date: 2007-01-03 11:25 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jianantonic.livejournal.com
No no no, that's what I'm saying...all the yankees SAY southerners "don't know how to drive in the snow," but there is no way to know how to drive in snow. Snow fucks with your car. There's no magic secret to beating the slipperiness. You either are willing to chance it or not. Northerners are more willing, because if they weren't, they'd have to stay indoors for half the year.

Date: 2007-01-02 12:42 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] oobermeister.livejournal.com
when will u be back in VA? i will be back jan 5 and will probably be in cville the following weekend to take care of some bidness for my parents. maybe we could get together again, maybe with camm since his ass leaves for bulgaria on jan 8 if i can recall

Date: 2007-01-02 04:59 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jianantonic.livejournal.com
I just got back but I won't be around on the weekends for a bit...bridge calls.

Date: 2007-01-03 04:55 am (UTC)

Newfies everywhere scoff at your EST pride

Date: 2007-01-02 03:53 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] tolangardh.livejournal.com
Darleen started cheering at 10:30 PM Eastern as it was midnight at "home."

Profile

jianantonic: (Default)
Meg

February 2019

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
1718192021 2223
2425262728  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 10:19 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios