jianantonic: (Spidey)
[personal profile] jianantonic
After a very busy week and a very productive morning, I'm finally relaxing and just sort of drifting...or maybe that's the paint fumes.

A crew has been painting the floor below us all week. Specifically, the room right below us. The fumes have been bad all week, but yesterday afternoon we all reached spectacular new levels of impairment. My boss sent a message to the landlord politely requesting that they knock it the fuck off while we're working; the building is poorly ventilated and he'd have to send us home if there's no reprieve from the fumes. He copied us all on the message and I think that got some hopes up. When we came in today and the fumes were worse than ever, we all had visions of a relaxing day in bed with our laptops, dialed in and half-working from home. But no. Bossman called the landlord and demanded something be done, lest the landlord pay for our labor today. What'd we get? Oxygen masks. So we're all sitting here in the office, the two windows we have are open with fans blowing cold air around the building, and a bunch of the guys are wearing oxygen masks. I'm not wearing one because the store didn't have enough for everyone and I decided to take one for the team and be high on paint all day. I really think NATE should've taken one for the team and passed out like he kept whining he was going to. Then we wouldn't have to sit around and work in fucking oxygen masks. Oh well. I guess I'm just a little miffed about being here because it seems from the parking situation that most of the rest of the city has the day off - for Lee-Jackon (but not King!) Day. Oh well. I think I'm glad we don't celebrate the Confederacy here, actually.

I am going to celebrate (recognize?) the 400th anniversary of white people in Virginia this weekend. I'll be in Williamsburg for a bridge tournament, but I'm hoping to find the time to pop over to Jamestown, which isn't far - the 400th anniversary festivities are under way now and it's been a while since I've been there. But mostly I'm just going to play bridge. I was invited to share a condo at Powhatan (where my parents own their timeshares) with some ladies from the easybridge class, so I am going for the whole weekend after all. I'm looking forward to it. It'll be sad to be there without Emily G, though:( I don't know that I've ever been to Williamsburg without her, actually. Well, not since I was 10.

I did a new (to me) pilates video yesterday. It was a lot more intense than I expected and I'm quite sore today, but I think I'll be able to get in a decent workout at the gym tonight anyway. It's been a while since I've had a good leg workout, and maybe I'll try a stairmaster tonight. I'm feeling like really mixing it up. But if I'm still sore I'll probably just do my old favorite pilates video at home...one of the workouts on there is only 28 minutes, so there's no reason I can't find time to do that on days I can't/don't make it to the gym. :)

Lunchtime, maybe....
Peace.

Profile

jianantonic: (Default)
Meg

February 2019

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
1718192021 2223
2425262728  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 10:19 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios