jianantonic: (Default)
[personal profile] jianantonic
The weekend is so close I can taste it. Tastes like chocolate. Dr. Fogarty cancelled our Thursday and Friday classes so he can go to a conference, so apart from tutoring (which is endless), I only have one more class this week. Just New Testament tomorrow at 1. That means I'll get to work some extra hours and make the big bucks. I get a raise soon...in two months...I guess that's soon. Only four more paychecks at my current wage. I think the Dixons give real raises, too, not that $.20/hr every six months bullshit that I got at American Eagle. I worked there for four years, started at $5.40/hour and finished at $6.75/hour, after consistently reaching all of my sales/credit card app goals that whole time. Those bitches. Oh well. It was a cool place to work, I guess. But I make way more now and love my job. I've been dealing with Christina a little better lately. She still pisses me off and I think she's mentally retarded, but at least I've been able to talk to her without wanted to scream the past few days. And she has Thursdays off so I don't have to see her today.

Jer and I get to babysit for Dr. Jo again on Saturday. His kids are precious. They call him Poppa and Ben wants to be a rainbow climber when he grows up. I should explain. Two summers ago, when Ben had just turned 3, I took a summer class with Dr. Josefson at his house because I was the only student. Ben would run around and play on the porch while we were talking about political philosophy, and he was so cute. One day, he came running up to Dr. Jo and goes "Poppa! Poppa! I decided what I'm going to be when I grow up!"
Dr. Jo: What's that, Ben?
Ben: I'm gonna be a rainbow climber!
Dr. Jo: Ben, you can't climb a rainbow...
Me: Yes he can, Dr. Jo! Yes he can!
Ben: Yes I can, Poppa.
Dr. Jo: How are you going to climb a rainbow?
Ben: (flexes his arms like a body builder) With aaaaaalllllll of my muscle!
How cute is that? This kid is adorable. He's 4½ now, and he has a baby sister, Claire, who is 1½. They're really well-behaved, too.

I got my midterm back from Dr. Longenecker today in my Social History class. His comments are: "Very informative. Shows much familiarity with the period (1919-1939). Very well-written. A-." What do I have to do to get an A if a very well-written, very informative essay is only worth an A-? Did anyone do better than that? The thing with Dr. Longenecker is this: no matter what I do, I get the same grade on EVERYTHING. It's true. I've gotten 90s on every assignment this semester for him. Last semester I got 91s on everything for one class and 94s on everything in the other class. I guess I'm just consistent?

I wonder if we'll have trick-or-treaters at our apartment. We're on the third floor of a JMU complex, so there aren't any kids there, but in the same neighborhood there are townhouses with tons of kids. I'm thinking we *probably* won't get trick-or-treaters, but I'm hoping we do because little kids are so cute on Halloween. Although, they do Halloween early on campus for the professors' kids, and this year all these kids were going around asking for candy and they weren't even wearing costumes! I was like, come on, work for your candy! But those that were dressed up were adorable. Dr. Larson, a biology professor, dressed his two girls up as insects. He's a dork, but we like him:)

I'd say I've written enough for one entry. Peace.

Profile

jianantonic: (Default)
Meg

February 2019

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
1718192021 2223
2425262728  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 04:34 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios