jianantonic: (Freedom)
[personal profile] jianantonic
About a week and a half ago, I injured my leg. I self-diagnosed it as a muscle strain and stayed off it for a while. I took it easy at the gym and I listened to my body. I did some light resistance training on my legs on Friday. No pain, no problem. I rested the muscles for a day and did more leg stuff yesterday. Not once did I feel the slightest twinge of pain. I've done cardio every day this week, either biking or running. Again, no pain, no problem, yet still taking it easy on the leg. Yesterday after my workout, the leg got gradually worse and worse. At one point, while sitting on my couch, I tried to move and an intense pain shot through the area and did not go away for a long time. I iced it. I stayed off it. I went to bed. I did not sleep all night because the pain was too severe. I made a doctor's appointment for this morning. I did everything right. Yet, there's nothing the doctor can do. "You did everything right," she says. "Just stay off it for at least a week, maybe two, give it plenty of time to heal before you try to work out again." When a doctor tells you to stay off your leg for over a week, shouldn't she give you crutches? Did I get crutches? No. Lame.

So my leg (quadricep, specifically) is in some pretty severe and constant pain. I get to take a double dose of painkillers, but I have to take that with a big meal or it'll upset my tummy, so I haven't had anything yet. It feels least terrible when it's straight, and while I can put weight on it and even squeeze the muscle without any pain, I cannot engage the muscle at all without some pretty intense pain...basically I have to keep it straight or OW. So the bathroom was an adventure. There is a handicapped stall, but no rails. What's the point of the stall if there are no rails, huh? How the fuck am I supposed to get myself onto that toilet without bending my leg and with nothing to hold onto. It became a very ungraceful one-legged maneuver, which isn't that difficult to execute normally, but have you ever tried to squat with one leg on the floor and one leg out in front of you while trying to hold your pee? Try it. If you have a truly full bladder, it's even money that you'll whiz all over yourself. Please note: I did not whiz all over myself, or anything else in the bathroom. But with all the water I drink, I usually take potty breaks at least every hour. The odds are not in my favor.

Anyway, I'm toughing it out here at work, but I think I have to cancel my training tonight, which bums me out hardcore. Bah! And now I have to pee again...

Peace.

Date: 2007-01-23 02:47 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] oobermeister.livejournal.com
ahh the beauty of having a penis. you should get one.

Profile

jianantonic: (Default)
Meg

February 2019

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
1718192021 2223
2425262728  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 10:19 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios