jianantonic: (Freedom)
[personal profile] jianantonic
When I was in high school, and right now I'm thinking specifically back to my sophomore year, I had a senior boyfriend. Senior boyfriend and I were both early risers, and every morning, he would come to my house before school to pick me up. School started at 9 and I lived about a mile away. He was usually at my house by 7 or 7:30. We'd hang out for a while, then we'd drive in, arriving sometime shortly before 8 most days. We were always one of the first cars in the lot. This was important to senior boyfriend, as he had a spot that he did not want to relinquish in the student parking lot, and he had to get there early to make sure none of the other bastard kids took it.

Often, senior boyfriend and I would hang out in the parking lot before school, waiting for his other senior friends to get there, park next to us, and talk about Marilyn Manson. We were so cool. But there was one kid who was even cooler than we were. He had the very cool name "Franklin," but I called him "Nissan Boy." Nissan Boy drove a little red Nissan, probably a '92 or '93, with no bells and whistles whatsoever except for the most absurdly oversized subwoofer in the trunk. Every day, Nissan Boy would get to school about the same time we would and he would start to cruise. Now, I went to a very big high school, but they had rather strict rules about who was allowed to drive to school and thus the parking lot was still fairly small. Yet Nissan Boy would do laps like it was the hippest strip in town, subwoofer maxxed out to the point you couldn't decipher the music, but if you were constipated, you could remedy it by standing next to Nissan Boy's car.

Nissan Boy would jet around the parking lot, slowing down when he came upon other people, showing off his system and giving the death stare to you as you walked by. "Don't fuck with me. My car is way more annoying than yours will ever be. Check it." After he'd stared at you for an uncomfortable moment, he'd zoom off, but that wouldn't be the last you'd see of him. He'd circle the lot like this until the final warning bell rang for first period, when he'd dart off to the gas station to fill up the tank he emptied that morning and then run to class with his baggy pants somewhere down around his knees. Oh, Franklin.

One of the most amusing memories I have from high school is from spring of sophomore year. One morning, Nissan Boy showed up to school with new tires. Racecar tires. They stuck out from his car about four inches on either side, and my god, were they badass. You could see the pride in Nissan Boy's eyes as he idled his car next to you on his morning rounds. Way to go, pimp. But then, something awful happened. Our school's resident rent-a-cop noticed the new tires, and it occurred to him that state law requires your tires not stick out more than 2 inches from the wheel wells. This was a shining moment for rent-a-cop, as the only glory he had previously was in writing jaywalking tickets to students who stepped outside of the crosswalk as they made their way into school. No joke. Anyway, Officer Goodfornothing came racing out of the school, jumped into his parked police car, and started tailing Nissan Boy, until he eventually turned on his lights and sirens and pulled him over. There's nothing funnier than when a do-nothing cop on a power trip and a kid with a huge ego but very low self esteem come together. The cop actually busted out a tape measure on Franklin's tires. He forced him to park his car - just minutes into his daily cruising rounds - and come inside the school, where he was issued a ticket for his illegal tires. The next day, Nissan Boy's tires were back to normal, and that was his last attempt at further pimping the little compact that couldn't.

I can just see Franklin now, working some corporate job where he arrives every morning an hour and a half early to circle the parking lot in some clunker blaring gangsta rap, forcing his coworkers into unhealthy levels of repressed laughter, and ensuring that he never, ever gets laid. I really do wonder whatever happened to that kid. And his car.

Peace.

Date: 2007-01-26 05:10 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] stillbigonbnl.livejournal.com
Best. Post. Ever.

However, I went to Spotswood, so it was huge, jacked up pick ups with enormous subwoofers. "Hey, check out those Mickey Thomspon's" some dude would say....

Date: 2007-01-28 10:27 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] oobermeister.livejournal.com
yknow now that i'm older, i'm feelin that maybe it wasnt such a great idea for the high schools to offer us parking. it seems like having all those high school brats on the road at once is creating a hazard. and the county offered public transportation for us, so it certainly wasted a lot of energy and money. i dunno about albemarle, but anyone who was a junior or senior at western could get a parking pass whether they really needed it or not.

plus, it seems like a way to promote the class divide, since only the families with enough money can get their kids cars, or nice cars for that matter. also, promoting the use of personal over public transportation is not good for the environment.

end shpiel.

Date: 2007-01-29 01:35 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jianantonic.livejournal.com
I'm totally with you. AHS kids could only get parking passes if they had sports (passes were by season, so if you only played one sport, you only got a pass that season) after school or jobs that they'd be late to if they rode the bus. I like that policy, but a lot of kids found ways around it...

Date: 2007-01-29 11:39 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] flamingophoenix.livejournal.com
If by "AHS kids" you mean "AHS juniors." Seniors could get a decal without any reason. I know because I did.

Kids with jobs is a trickier problem, but they're a resourceful school, they can figure it out.

Date: 2007-01-29 11:38 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] flamingophoenix.livejournal.com
and the county offered public transportation for us

Goddamn straight. I only believe this now that I'm 23, not a high schooler who desperately wished she could drive to school every morning, but even so. What a hideous waste of energy. Hooray for global warming!

Date: 2007-01-30 12:37 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] toridethewind.livejournal.com
Your high school didn't start until 9!?!?!?!?!? That is so completely unfair.

Our NoVa high schools started around 7-o-dark-30 am. Mine (also an AHS, by the way) started at the ungodly hour of 7:20.

To ride the bus, this meant catching 6:30 bus, and that was for me near the end of the route. This is why my mom started driving us, because that extra half hour of sleep was desperately needed.

Profile

jianantonic: (Default)
Meg

February 2019

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
1718192021 2223
2425262728  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 10:19 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios