jianantonic: (Spidey)
[personal profile] jianantonic
I had a pretty good bridge weekend, I'd say. My overall masterpoint take was 3.05 silver for three sessions of play, which is okay for a small sectional, but of course I'd love to do better next weekend when I play two sessions of Swiss with the same team. I think we will. This past weekend, the strats were 0-300, 300-1500, and 1500+. Usually they're 0-500 or 0-750, then 500 or 750 to 2000, and 2000+. Lynchburg needs to get with the times - in many, many more ways than one. That town is tainted by Falwell. Blech.

Anyway what I was getting at was that even though my team is a bunch of relatively new life masters (and me, with my 125+ points which are mostly all from the last 11 months) and we didn't get to play in C like we usually would. But we beat all the C teams and most of the B's. We didn't fare so well against the A teams we met up with, but we had 4 wins (one blitz) on the day and finished 4th in our flight. I just looked at the flier for next week. This is bullshit:
Strataflighted: A1 and A2 (0-2000 and 2000+) and B and C (0-300 and 300+). That SUCKS! Not only will we have to be the top flight in our game, we won't even get to compete against the better players! If you're going to have an A/X game, the other game should be THREE flights, not two, and the tournament damn well better be big enough to justify such nonsense. Boo. But I'll go and have fun and I know my team is certainly capable of winning the B/C game, especially with all the really strong players in the A/X. Maybe they'll want to play A/X then. Who knows? My vote? No. I want to get better but I don't want to spend $20 + gas to get spanked all day. I'll play in an open game when it costs less time and money, or when I'm in a well-established partnership. Though Ahren is not as strong a player as Kevin, he and I can definitely hold our own in open games for the most part. I'm just not quite comfortable going there with a new partnership/team when there are guaranteed wins to be had in the lower group. Though I wish the whole thing were open - then if we get spanked by a top team, we just get paired up against another team who also got the same treatment.

Lancaster's schedule also looks a little unfavorable to a player like me: they have a 299er swiss, which is too low for us, and they have a 0-1000 and a 1000+ swiss. Lame. Again, we'll be probably the lowest team in the big game, but won't have the advantage of a lower strat to work with us. I guess we'll just have to win the whole thing so it doesn't matter.

I have even more things to talk about, but will probably do one more post at some point later today.

Peace.

superiority of younger generation

Date: 2007-03-12 07:06 pm (UTC)
From: (Anonymous)
and we scored more masterpoints for 4th in Strat B than your uncle' s team did for 6th in Strat A!

-- Kevin

Date: 2007-03-15 12:33 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] quandary87.livejournal.com
You should be more than fine in the 0-1000, 1000+ Swiss. Seriously. Though I too wish that tournaments would be smarter about their stratification. More strats = more points and that makes everyone happier at no cost.

Date: 2007-03-15 12:11 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jianantonic.livejournal.com
Yeah, I know we'll be fine in the 0-1000, it's just annoying to me. Mistakes/bad luck are a lot costlier when there are only two brackets. Meh.

Profile

jianantonic: (Default)
Meg

February 2019

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
1718192021 2223
2425262728  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 03:43 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios