jianantonic: (God)
[personal profile] jianantonic
When you spend $2.50 retail for a brand new pair of shoes, well, you get what you pay for. The show last night was awesome, but this blog is not the story of the Girlyman show. This is a story about feet. Feet that were scratched and bloody by mid-afternoon from just walking in these cheap Old Navy flip flops.

I bought them because I've finally come to the realization that I can't wear go-go boots with everything, and that cute little sundress I bought (and wore yesterday) needed to be paired with more appropriate footwear. Yesterday was the first time I wore these flops, and I'm fairly certain that they'll be fine once I break them in, if I can stand to keep wearing them until they are broken in.

I parked on 6th Street yesterday when I arrived for work. There were closer spots, but I knew that you are allowed to park overnight on 6th, whereas you can't park on Garrett after 9pm. I had planned to leave for lunch anyway, go get my nails done somewhere, come back and park in the Omni garage, but just in case I didn't, 6th would be a fine place to leave my car during the show. Never mind that it requires walking 3/4 of a mile through the sketchy part of town alone in the dark at midnight...I could get a ride back to my car with one of my friends if I was feeling too anxious about it anyway.

I ended up not leaving during lunch, so my car stayed where it was. I also ended up selling merch for the band at the show, so my friends were all long gone before I was out of there. I winced with every step as I started the nervous journey back to my car, when I suddenly realized, "Shit. I'm on the wrong side of 6th. I am parked illegally as of 9pm. SHIT." I started to run, as if getting there faster would keep my car from being towed three hours ago. I ran until I could see that my car was, thankfully, still there. When I stopped to walk, I realized the searing pain in my feet. I took my shoes off and ran barefoot the rest of the way to my car, praying there'd be no boot or ticket on it. There wasn't. Aside from a few minutes of sheer panic and a day of ouchy feet, it really was the perfect day.

I <3 Girlyman.

Oh, and I bought a really awesome t-shirt from a local designer to wear to the gym. It's got a powerpuff-looking girl on the front with a barbell over her head, where the weights at either end are the male and female symbols, and the barbell is bent, and it says "GENDER BENDER" underneath the design. Then the back has the male and female symbols interlocked in an infinity sign and it says "Fluid Thought" or "Fluid Thinking" - I can't remember and I can't see the back of my shirt right now. The girl who designed them was a totally hot butch and between her and Ty from Girlyman, I could've forgotten about men forever...at least for the whole night...but alas, both Ty and the gender bender girl are in relationships, and hey, whaddya know, so am I. So really I'm just babbling here. I can't wait to wear this shirt to the gym. Hehe:)

Peace.

Profile

jianantonic: (Default)
Meg

February 2019

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
1718192021 2223
2425262728  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 03:43 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios