jianantonic: (Freedom)
[personal profile] jianantonic
I went for a walk yesterday afternoon to savor the nice weather, since the forecast shows a week of dreadful crap starting today. I saw Ellis Paul having lunch at Miller's, and I really wanted to stop and chat, but I figured it would be kind of rude, so I didn't. But neener neener, Ellis Paul lives in my town:) Um, if you don't know who Ellis Paul is, then we can't be friends anymore. J/f, but look him up - he's amazing.

I took a very necessary nap between work and bridge when I got home. The fact that I was actually able to fall asleep in the mid-afternoon shows just how tired I really was. In all of my adult life, I've probably slept less than 15 hours' time that was not my regular overnight sleep - including all the times I've woken up for the morning and fallen back asleep. Once I'm awake for the day, that's pretty much the end of sleep for me until I turn in for the night. It kind of sucks.

Waking up from a nap and then trying to get going again as if there's more day left ahead of you is like telling me to do ten pull-ups after an upper body workout with my trainer. And I can't even do one pull-up when I'm at full strength. More on this momentarily. But anyway I dragged ass all the way to bridge, and when I got there, I realized I'd been blacked out most of the way there. I had absolutely no memory of getting in the car, how I got there, or how I got to the bridge table. And I suddenly noticed an excruciating stomach ache, which didn't go away until I was sound asleep last night. I was secretly hoping that not enough people would come out for a game and I could go home and crawl back in bed. And not enough people did show - we had 5 pairs, enough for 2.5 tables, and we need 3 full for a game. Or so I thought. Paul polled the audience, and being the only one who didn't want to have a game, I decided not to ruin everyone else's night by going home, so I muscled through. I was miserable the whole night, couldn't count for shit, and played some of the worst bridge I ever have.

But we won.

Cause that's just how I roll. A 25-board game with a 5-board sitout - every board was played only twice, and despite my embarrassing play, we still came out on top. Yeesh.

I went home and had a fantastic sleep - thankfully, the note I left for the neighbor worked, and I haven't heard that alarm clock for two days now. :-D

So, pull-ups. I made the mistake of telling my trainer that a goal I have for myself is the ability to do pull-ups. When I look at a pull-up bar, I feel strong enough to do it, but then I actually try, and it's embarrassing how much I've overestimated my own strength. I haven't tried in a while, but I'm fairly certain I couldn't quite do it still. So my trainer has this really goofy-looking strength-building exercise that is specifically designed to help you get better at pull-ups, and have I mentioned that I hate this exercise and feel like an idiot doing it? Every week when I train with Jen, she gives me a new least favorite exercise ever. Just when I think there's nothing more painful or humiliating than that lunge-plie-backwards lunge-squat combo she gave me, she tops it. On the plus side, it makes the other stuff just a little less horrible for me. It's all about perspective.

Today is our last DI practice before regionals tomorrow...wow. Bridge on Sunday, work/train on Monday, then I get to welcome home my roommate! With all the great stuff I have going on this weekend, is it wrong that Monday is what I'm most looking forward to?

Peace.

Date: 2007-03-16 04:21 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] kixeldorado.livejournal.com
Trust me, when you get to one pull up, you feel SO AWESOME that you were able to do it.
It only gets better with the more you can do. :)

So in the interest of wanting to be able to do more, what's the goofy looking strength building thing she's making you do to help with pullups?

:)

And congrats on the nap. I've never really been able to get the hang of those things either.


Date: 2007-03-16 04:31 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jianantonic.livejournal.com
She has me stand on a box and jump up to the pull-up bar so I start with my chin above it, then lower myself down as slowly as possible. 15 reps, 3 sets. It hurts. And I feel like a moron.

Profile

jianantonic: (Default)
Meg

February 2019

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
1718192021 2223
2425262728  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 03:43 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios