jianantonic: (Default)
[personal profile] jianantonic
Yesterday was probably the most FULL day I've had in a really long time. I was up as early as 5:30, so it started off slow and annoying, but the day was in full swing by 8am. Ahren and I went to my mom's for breakfast with my brother, future sis-in-law, niece, parents, and Emily. Mom was experimenting with new breakfast recipes, which we okay I guess, but I don't know why she'd mess with a winning combination...breakfast at Mom's is always the best meal, and I was totally bummed that there were no pancakes or scrambled eggs. Oh well.

We only did the Hokey Pokey once, which is like a record low, but it was fun, and nice not to have to wear ourselves out with it. Ahren got out of it by taking pictures. He killed the batteries on my camera, but I'll post pictures eventually.

At 10, we left for Crabtree Falls. It took a little over an hour to get there, and we hiked about halfway up before turning around to get to lunch in time. We were scheduled to meet people at the river at 1. In our family, when we say "the river," we mean my aunt's cabin on the Tye River. It's funny that the Tye is "the river" to us, because Ahren says that it'd be lucky to have creek status in Minnesota. It's not very wide or deep at any points...it's pretty tame, I guess, but it's still my favorite river.

Lunch was good, but I ate too much...but then what does that say about Ahren, who ate something like 12 kielbasas? And six ears of corn. And two helpings of dessert. Yeesh.

Virginia Page taught us two new card gamse, and Ahren won both, while I was second in both (out of 5). Everyone decided that they don't like Ahren anymore after that. :)

On our way home, William and Rachel told me about their wedding plans, and we talked about maybe going to Jon Stewart at night. I hadn't planned on it, but the more I thought about it, the more I figured I'd be really upset with myself for missing the chance to see him, so we bought tickets and went straight to the show after we got home.

The show was awesome. There were points where I was laughing so hard that I was afraid for my health - I could not breathe and my stomach was cramping up so much I was sure I would puke. So as far as physical comfort, it may have been a bad night...but it was so worth it. My favorite joke went something like this:
"There are CRAZY MOTHERFUCKERS out there. Some people on the right seem to think that putting the Ten Commandments up in schools will prevent all the violence. That's about as stupid as believing that the "Employees Must Wash Hands" sign is keeping the piss out of your happy meal."

Also, I hit the storage jackpot yesterday. My mom tossed a bag of clothes at me that I've had in storage since my senior year in high school. I worked at American Eagle for four years when I was a teenager, and I had forgotten just how many pairs of pants I owned. Of course none of them have fit me since I was 17, so they were in storage in a closet somewhere at my mom's. They all fit now, and they're totally rad, because they're from the days before AEO was such a slutty teenybopper store. I've got like 30 different pairs of pants, and I love them all and wish I could wear them all today. Ha:)

Peace.

Date: 2007-04-29 12:04 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] stillbigonbnl.livejournal.com
Happy belated Birthday! I wasn't around yesterday to be on time with the wishes. :)

Yay for high school pants that fit! :)

Date: 2007-04-29 09:57 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] kixeldorado.livejournal.com
My fave part was when he was talking about the computer. Bwahahahah.

Which section were you in? We were up in the nosebleeds in 307. OHMYGOD that was way high up...

PS, can you give me directions to Crabtree Falls? We're looking for a good hike.

Date: 2007-04-29 10:04 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jianantonic.livejournal.com
I was also in 307 - row N.

To Crabtree Falls:
29S to 56W (on the right just before Colleen)
Go about 1/4mile and turn right onto Roseland Road - take it to the end, then turn left to go over a bridge over the Tye River, then immediately Right back onto 56W after the bridge. You'll go through Massies Mill and past my farm and then the falls are on the left in about 10 minutes. It's not really a hard hike, but it's really beautiful. Have fun:)

Date: 2007-04-30 01:23 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] oobermeister.livejournal.com
oh yea, happy birfday.

i hope you didnt get crabs at crabtree falls.

i graduate on may 19. we should get campy sometime after that.

Profile

jianantonic: (Default)
Meg

February 2019

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
1718192021 2223
2425262728  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 09:21 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios