jianantonic: (Freedom)
[personal profile] jianantonic
I can't believe how absent I've been lately. I guess I've just been inside my own head a lot more lately, and much less open about it, but I'm sure this will pass.

I've worked out a rather impressive schedule for bridge over the next six months. It only requires about 10 times more vacation days than I've got. I'm not really sure how I'll address this issue. Normally I'd just be like c'est la vie, work comes first, I'll have time for bridge when I'm old and retired...but...this is my last year as a junior and I'd really like to make a few waves in that scene, y'know? So...we'll see what happens. Right now I'm just planning on a lot of weekends out of town for tournaments.

A couple of major bummers: Girlyman is playing the Gravity Lounge on the first day of Falcon Ridge. I'll already be 24 hours gone:(
The Edhead cruise coincides not only with 2 Arlo concerts and a Dar show, but also the VABX regional I've already committed to work. Boo. I need to clone myself so I can be in several places at once.

I'm still anxiously waiting on friends and family to send pictures to me from my brother's wedding. It was such a fun day and I took tons of pictures, but my camera stopped working (not batteries, rather an actual equipment malfunction) kind of early in the day, so I'm relying on others for the shots from anything beyond the actual ceremony.

Some highlights from the weekend...
Emily and I arrived at the resort at midnight, pretty much as everyone else was heading off to bed, but my brother Adrian was still going strong at the bar and yelled "YOU ARE NOT MY SISTER!" when I tried to leave without having a drink first. Really it wasn't so much that we were tired as we didn't want to pay, but when we heard it was an open bar, we decided to go for it. I discovered a new favorite mixed drink - whiskey sour. Yum! I got pleasantly lit, and went to bed apparently a LOT drunker than I thought I was, after helping my brother close down the bar. I'd only had like 3 drinks, but that's 2.5 more than it usually takes to knock me out, so it didn't really surprise me that when I got into bed, I started feeling really sick. I was able to drift off to sleep without incident, but when I woke up, my right foot was covered in blood. I'm not sure how that happened, but it was kinda gross.

The next day I was indeed a bit hung over, but had a decent breakfast and went hiking with my family at Bushkill Falls. I use the term "hiking" loosely here, but we went for a nice long walk in the woods anyway. I have to take a moment here to just say how much Emily Gercke impresses me. She's so good at making conversation, making herself comfortable among people she doesn't really know, and engaging others. Fuck, it was MY family, and she was better at talking to them than I was. But good for her.

After the hike, everyone gathered in the hospitality suite my mom was running, and we just chilled and ate sandwiches and junk food for most of the afternoon. Knowing it was going to be a late night, Mom wanted to put Lucy down for a nap, but the room was buzzing too much for her to settle down. I volunteered to take her back to my room to nap with me (I needed one, too), and after a minor struggle, she came with me. Emily was asleep in one bed, so I quietly tucked Lucy into my own and then crawled in on the other side. She didn't put up much of a fight about this, but she also didn't close her eyes. She just stared at the wall for several minutes. I thought she was bored and that she'd be pissed at me for forcing her into this situation, but when I made eye contact with her, she just grinned at me.
"Lucy, how are you supposed to sleep with your eyes open?"
"I'm AWAKE!" *giggles*
"Okay, but let's go to sleep."
"Okay."
And she did.
I was impressed. I didn't think it was supposed to be that easy. When we woke up, I took her back to my mom's room so we could all get ready for the wedding. I ran back to my place to shower, then went to do my hair in mom's room. This was about 5 minutes later, and Lucy goes, "Hey Meg, remember that time I slept in your bed?"
"Yes, of course, it was only a few minutes ago."
"That was fun."
Aww.

So the wedding was great. It was really unconventional (not *quite* as unconventional as my own, but close, I think). There were no attendants, except that when it was time for the rings, Lucy and Rachel's niece Maya walked down the aisle to deliver them. Bride and groom entered together to an instrumental of "My Favorite Things," and when they kissed, Prince's "Kiss" played over the speakers. That was pretty hot. The ceremony was short and sweet, and I was seated between Adrian and my dad, so I figured I could look to them to help me not cry, but Adrian lost his shit and I even heard Dad sniffle a bit, so by the end of it, all the Massies were reduced to a blubbering chain. I hugged Rachel after the ceremony and tried to get some words out, but I couldn't, so I just smiled and wiped my eyes. I think she knew what I meant:) She's a really, really great lady, and I'm so excited to have her in my family now.

The reception was great fun, too. The food was absolutely incredible, and it was another open bar. Then there was dancing. The traditional first dance was not so traditional. Everyone gathered on the dance floor to do the Hokie Pokie (we spell it with an -ie in this family, naturally). It's Lucy's favorite song, and whenever the Massie family is together with her, we do it about a thousand times, so it was fitting that she led the whole group in her favorite song and dance. My cousin Bruce got some fantastic pictures from this, and I am waiting for him to email them to me so I can share them with the world. What a hoot.

My four-year-old cousin Will was the hit of the dance party, break dancing without a care in the world in the middle of the floor. He is a master of the pelvic thrust. We all had a great time dancing the night away, and I miraculously survived the evening without taking off my shoes or breaking my ankles. When I get pictures of my ensemble, you'll see what a feat this was.

I'm not sure if I've left anything out, though I'm sure I have...I'll have more pictures one day soon, I hope.

Peace.

Profile

jianantonic: (Default)
Meg

February 2019

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
1718192021 2223
2425262728  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 07:57 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios