jianantonic: (Spidey)
[personal profile] jianantonic
I learned some really interesting things yesterday, but I have neither the time nor energy to blog about them;)

Since my mom stopped running her Monday night 199er game, lots of those folks decided to start attending the Monday night club in Waynesboro, and [livejournal.com profile] mczen and I made plans a long time ago to attend that game when he got to town. Charlottesville was well-represented at the 8.5(!) table club game (okay, 8.5 isn't really *that* big, but considering our Thursday club rarely breaks 4, it was exciting. It was even stratified). Ahren went and played with Gail, but we both sat N/S, so I didn't get to play against them this time. Our first few boards were good, but then McKenzie misplayed a double-squeeze situation on one of the early boards. It didn't cost us any tricks, but he was still pissed at himself, and turned into a real sourpuss for the next hour or so. This dragged me down, and I played some really shitty bridge on several hands. I didn't look at the bridgemate once all night, but occasionally the opps would congratulate each other on top boards, so I was a bit discouraged. During one of our longer breaks, McKenzie and I had a come to Jesus talk about his attitude, and things perked up. We finished strong, and in the end we had a 62% game. Good enough for 2nd and .63 black, but McKenzie got pissy once again because we didn't win. What a goon.

Granted, I wanted to win, too, and fully expected to until the middle rounds, but I was content with our finish, given the way the middle rounds went. And since my fuckups were the costly ones (his missed double squeeze was inconsequential), I felt like he was indirectly bitching at me over the not winning issue, and that annoyed me. Oh well. We'll win on Thursday. I'm adding this Monday night game to my regular repertoire in hopes of gaining enough black points this year to make life master (I'll definitely have my 300 this year, but I'm not sure what the requirement is for me with black, and just to be safe I'd like to win a lot of them.). My black point requirements are somewhat up in the air, because I joined before the requirement, but my membership lapsed, but I'm not sure my account reflects the lapse, because one of my director friends may have done something with my account...anyway I'm not sure. I should just email the ACBL. Yeah. I'll do that.

Sorry all I talk about anymore is bridge. I'll have a concert to talk about this weekend.

Peace.

Date: 2007-06-26 04:06 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mczen.livejournal.com
I'm sorry you got that impression. You certainly played well enough to win if I was on my game. Remember that it's my job to win bridge events, and paid or not, when I lose and had the opportunity to win with better play, I'm quite disappointed in myself.

Date: 2007-06-26 04:07 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jianantonic.livejournal.com
Well, if I'd played better, we certainly would've won. I think my margin for improvement was much greater than yours, so when you bitch about not winning, it bugs me.

300 this year!?

Date: 2007-06-26 05:58 pm (UTC)
From: (Anonymous)
That's still an ambitious goal. Do you have it mapped out by tournament schedule and goal for each tournament? Do you still need some of your 25 Gold? 50 Silver? [one assumes you already have the 25 red/gold]

and . . . will we see you in Bethesda?

-- Kevin
(reply by e-mail if you don't want to tell the world here)

Re: 300 this year!?

Date: 2007-06-26 06:21 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jianantonic.livejournal.com
Well, in the first six months of the year, I've already won 100 points...I've got 100 to go...I'd say it's a realistic goal. I think I'm the only bridge player in the ACBL with more Silver than anything else, but I had all my silver before I had 5 red, gold, or black.

Re: 300 this year!?

Date: 2007-06-26 08:03 pm (UTC)
From: (Anonymous)
so far so good! I started 2006 with less than 96, reached 200 only during the Alexandria (July 4) tourney. Will we see you in Bethesda?

Re: 300 this year!?

Date: 2007-06-26 08:13 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jianantonic.livejournal.com
Yeah, Ahren and I will be playing in Bethesda on Saturday and Sunday - if you need teammates, we're game.

Profile

jianantonic: (Default)
Meg

February 2019

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
1718192021 2223
2425262728  

Most Popular Tags

Page Summary

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 01:54 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios