Regrettable Fashion
Nov. 27th, 2007 01:27 pmI'm not particularly into fashion, but I do like to look back on media of years past and laugh at the hideous things that used to pass for hip. Sometimes it's not hideous, just dated. 20's style was totally hot (for women -- I am not a zoot suit fan), but the 40's and 50's were kind of weird. I never found women's style from that time very flattering. Especially the hair, and bras were so pointy. I think the 60's were the best decade for real fashion, and I would love to look like a 60's woman, except that I doubt any women in the 60's left home without several hours of preparation, which I'm not into at all. The 70's were glam and cool, and I can pull off a 70's look from time to time, but the 80's should just be forgotten, along with the early 90's.
So what is it that we're going to look back on from this decade and laugh at one day? I think hairstyles are more or less neutral, and I can't think of any recent revolutions in clothing this decade...except one. Clothes are totally slutty these days. I wonder if they'll go back to being more conservative, or if in twenty years, we'll all be naked for lack of any fashion innovations.
I'm trying to decide if there's an AisleDash post in this. Maybe, if I can find wedding photos from decades past.
So what is it that we're going to look back on from this decade and laugh at one day? I think hairstyles are more or less neutral, and I can't think of any recent revolutions in clothing this decade...except one. Clothes are totally slutty these days. I wonder if they'll go back to being more conservative, or if in twenty years, we'll all be naked for lack of any fashion innovations.
I'm trying to decide if there's an AisleDash post in this. Maybe, if I can find wedding photos from decades past.
no subject
Date: 2007-11-27 09:45 pm (UTC)You could always go with the trends in bridesmaid dresses? I mean, in the 80s it was all about puffy sleeves and big skirts, and now the style is very sleek, with a lot of empire waists, and that's good, at least for me. :)
no subject
Date: 2007-11-27 11:38 pm (UTC)Go read Maddox's most recent article (http://www.thebestpageintheuniverse.net/c.cgi?u=fashion) for a few suggestions of what people will laugh at a few decades from now. ;-) I especially agree about the maternity wear for non-pregnant women--don't get that one at all. Sigh.
Hey, you got my mom's email, right? DI-stuff is waiting for you at their house NOW (as in, they close on the house this Friday). So this is your last chance before it hits the Ivy Landfill. (Or wherever it goes.)
no subject
Date: 2007-11-28 01:39 am (UTC)I agree with Maddox's post, but every decade has UGLY things. They're sorta trends, but not something EVERYONE wears. Like in the 80's, everyone had awful perms and oversized sweaters with their stonewashed denim. Most girls these days have enough sense not to dress to look like whales.
I think you're confusing the 60's and 70's. Think Jackie O, Elizabeth Montgomery, Barbara Eden...
no subject
Date: 2007-11-28 01:51 am (UTC)I still wear oversized sweaters...oh hell, I still wear lumberjack shirts, it's great. :-D But I think that might just be me.
And okay! (Prettiness.) (But I would never want that much maintenance, eek!)
no subject
Date: 2007-11-28 01:13 pm (UTC)When do you come home to the Ville?
no subject
Date: 2007-12-11 04:10 pm (UTC)