jianantonic: (Default)
[personal profile] jianantonic
It's been a long, full day.  I wrote a lot this morning, then played bridge with my mom this afternoon.  We had a pretty solid game, except for one round that annoyed the hell out of me.  LHO opens a 15-17 1N.  All pass, and the dummy comes down with KQxx Kxx Jx Qxxx.  You'd think this would be a top board for us, because that's the stupidest pass ever, but no, it's a zero for us, because all the people who are in 3N and 4S are down one on unlucky breaks and finesses.  Lame.  And my mom is my mom -- she has some interesting ideas about what bridge should be, and I tend to disagree with her...  Here's an example hand.  I held KJxx Qxxx AK AQx, and I open 1C.  LHO overcalls 1H, CHO doubles for the other two suits.  I bid 4S, which is down 2 when dummy comes down with T8xx xx xx Kxxx.  Sigh.  She doesn't even have the second suit she promised.  Another zero, against the same pair.  Like I said, that was a bad round.  But in the end we had a 60% in a 12 table game.  2nd overall.  Decent, but I was really on my game today.  Shame I wasn't playing with Z instead, or maybe we'd have repeated our 73% from last week.

Anyway, after bridge, I came home and did nothing for a little while, which was nice, and then when Z got home from work we met my mom for dinner at Himalayan Fusion.  He saw that Old School Freight Train was playing at the Gravity Lounge, so he went there after dinner and I came home because I wasn't feeling up to a concert tonight.  For now I'm just killing time until he calls me to come pick him up, which will probably be soonish. 

I think we've decided against spending the whole weekend in DC so we can take another day here to just chill and organize our shit for Vegas.  I'm really excited about being there, but not at all looking forward to the hassle of getting there.  At least since we'll only be gone for one week, we won't have to haul around a bunch of huge bags.  I'm optimistic that we can pack all our clothes in one suitcase and then just check one bag.  I'm not so optimistic that I think we'll get away without checking anything, but that's also a remote possibility.  I guess I'll pack tomorrow and find out:)

I've been sort of dieting again, though not dieting so much as not being a pig.  I stopped drinking alcohol and sodas, and have cut way back on portion sizes, and I've been drinking a ton of water.  I just felt like I needed to make a change, because I was starting to gain weight again and I didn't want to get out of control.  So this raises an interesting dilemma.  Alcohol is free in Vegas, and I really like it.  Do I allow myself to have some?  I've only had one drink in the last month, and one half a small soda.  Meh.  I'm doing well, I should keep it up.  And it's not like it's a good idea to drink while gambling...so, okay, no drinking for me.  Maybe.

Hopefully Z will call soon.  I'm starting to fade...

Peace.

Date: 2008-02-23 04:55 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] oobermeister.livejournal.com
dieting doesnt work. making permenant, sustainable changes to your eating and exercise habits does.


wow, that was profound.



i hope you read the comment i made on your penis post several posts back.

Profile

jianantonic: (Default)
Meg

February 2019

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
1718192021 2223
2425262728  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 10:43 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios