jianantonic: (Default)
[personal profile] jianantonic
So Z's team was playing in the final of the kickoff knockout this evening, and shortly after the start of the match, I went down to the playing site to kibitz, cause, you know, I'm here to learn.  And it's exciting for me.  Anyway, I asked all the players at the table if they minded me watching, and everyone nodded and welcomed me.  I went to find a chair, pulled it up, and situated myself (which, with my broken ass, isn't always easy).  Then, just as they were getting to bid, Z's left hand opponent (Sam Wang) looked at me with a nasty face and says "Lady, I don't LIKE kibitzers."  Grr.  They have the right to bar one kibitzer, so there was nothing I could do about it, except tell everyone who would listen to me about what a jackass he was.  I don't resent the fact that he didn't want me there; I resent the rudeness.  Then later in the match, McKenzie told me, a friend of this jackass came to kibitz, and of course he allowed it.  Apparently there was an exchange of words between Z and the Wanginator, and his kibitzer left. 

I hung around away from the table long enough to see the halftime comparisons.  Down 15.  Damn.  But when I went to meet Z at the end of the match, they'd already finished and moved on to the hospitality suite, so I checked the bracket sheet and was thrilled to see that they'd won.  I ran up and hugged Z in the hospitality suite and cried "thanks for spanking that jackass!"  The jackass's teammates happened to be right there when I said that, so I guess I was somewhat of a jackass, too, but dammit, he was a jackass.  And I didn't know they were there.  Heh. 

Anyway, I'm very proud of my boy.  His bridge is the first thing that attracted him to me, after all;)

Peace.

Date: 2008-02-27 07:51 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] quandary87.livejournal.com
Always bring 2 other kibitzer friends. :) That way you seat one, LHO tries to ban him. Then you seat the other one, RHO bans him... and then you sit down. Nothing they can do anymore. :)

Date: 2008-02-27 07:57 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jianantonic.livejournal.com
Yeah, I know that trick, but I really didn't think it would be an issue. I've never had trouble kibitzing a bracket 2 (of 7+) KO before, because most players who are that high are totally used to kibitzers. I've only ever been barred by bunnies before.

Date: 2008-02-27 07:59 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] quandary87.livejournal.com
Who was running the sectional two weekends ago in Charlottesville? It seems that whoever was running it failed to include the I/N game's tables for the Open Game's table count.

If you have the time, you should try to get someone to fix that, just cause everyone earned those points anyways. It also nets you an additional 1.5 silver points or so, btw.

Date: 2008-02-27 08:06 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jianantonic.livejournal.com
It was Cathy Hildebrand, but someone else set up the game to "do her a favor and save time," but totally fucked it up, and Cathy spent forever trying to make it right. I did think <5 was a bit low for first overall, but I wasn't really concerned about it. Who would I even ask to fix it?

Date: 2008-02-27 08:45 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] quandary87.livejournal.com
You could it along to Doug or Millard, they can usually fix these things.

First overall with 27 tables should be 6.17 points (based on the formula (#tables + 10)/60 x GameRating x MPLimitScalar, where GameRating is 10 for Sectional and MPLimit is 1 since its an Open game). If you do get someone to fix it, make sure they know the problem exists for the entire weekend (except the Sunday Swiss).

Profile

jianantonic: (Default)
Meg

February 2019

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
1718192021 2223
2425262728  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 10:43 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios