jianantonic: (Default)
[personal profile] jianantonic
Now that I've seen SATC, I've been going back to read the reviews that friends have written, but I'm not sure I've read all of them...if you wrote one earlier, could you link me to it now?  Thanks:)

It seems most people are saying that the movie was a disappointment.  Honestly, it was about what I expected on all counts, except Samantha and Smith.  Good for her for not cheating, and good for the filmmakers for being honest about what she was going through.  I really related to the "he was there for me in chemo," because I have totally been there.  I've justified a lot of terrible relationships with "but he was there for me when..." and I thought that was a really honest, but sad, moment in the film. 

I liked that it wasn't a huge feel-good reunion special, because the show was never really a feel-good thing, either. 

I still really dislike the Carrie character, as I always have.  I think that she has RIDICULOUS issues with communication.  It seems that if she and Big had just talked to each other for five seconds, the whole left-at-the-altar thing would never have happened.  He TOTALLY could have (and WOULD have, if this were "real") tried so much harder than he did to just get her to listen.  And hello, after ten years of dating her, how would he not have her friends' phone numbers, huh?  Try a different phone.  Jesus. 

Speaking of ten years of dating -- even after all that time, there were so many things she didn't know about him.  Like when they're looking at the penthouse and she doesn't know if he can afford it.  Married or not, after being together for ten years, you'd think she'd have a clue about his finances. 

And I thought it was pretty hokey how the girls were all so happy for her in the end when she got married -- didn't they hate him?  Wouldn't they be totally worried that Carrie had just made a HUGE mistake? 

Oh, and I thought her wedding dress was AWFUL.  What was with those boobs?  And the bird?  Blech.

So I definitely thought the movie had some holes and inconsistencies, but overall I was entertained.  Much like the series, I didn't have to like the characters to like the story, even if it was totally transparent at times.  Still entertaining. 

And the part where Charlotte shit herself?  Fucking brilliant.  And I love how that's the bad thing that happens to her -- compared to divorces and being left at the altar -- that cracked me up.

I could go on, but those were my initial reactions.

Peace.

Date: 2008-06-05 01:24 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] photomonk2.livejournal.com
I posted my review here (http://photomonk2.livejournal.com/60860.html).

My biggest issue with the movie was that some points were SO predictable. I talk about the auction and the ring in my review. The password for the assistant email folder was another obvious point. I think there was at least one more thing but it isn't coming to mind.

Your points about Carrie's issues are well made and accurate once I think about it. Since Big was also clearly well known as a NY financier, I would have thought that would be a big clue as to his value. And how she went off on him just after they both left the library... yes, it was needed to give us more movie, but given the phone call they had the night before, you would think she would have been able to at least listen to him. But yeah - why didn't he try someone else's phone? Of course, his assuming that on her wedding day she would have her phone right there was a little silly, too.

The character I have the most issue with is Miranda, but maybe that's because of the 4, she's the one most like me (which is a stretch of sorts since I am no where near a fashionable and successful NY lawyer). I just find her to be a hard person and somewhat inflexible. I was glad she reunited with Steve, but then it was a movie meant to be of happy endings.

For me it wasn't meant to be a great cinematic movie. And even though I wasn't a regular watcher of the series and don't have the DVDs, I was happy to see the ladies again. It was an enjoyable way to spend a couple of hours and eat too much popcorn, for me :-)

Profile

jianantonic: (Default)
Meg

February 2019

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
1718192021 2223
2425262728  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 10:28 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios