The housekeeping lady at this hotel doesn't speak English. Normally we leave the Do Not Disturb thing on the door all the time and don't take housekeeping services, but Z wanted me to let them in this week, so I haven't used the DND sign. Instead, I make sure I am out of the room for a couple of hours each day so housekeeping can do their thing. The first day I was here, she knocked and when I yelled through the door (I was not dressed) "Please come back later," she came right in. When I said I'd be leaving in an hour or so and asked her to come back then, she obviously didn't understand, so I said "one o'clock," which she seemed to get and then when I came back at 2, the place was clean. Each day this week, she's knocked, then barged into the room while I'm here, only to come back again later when I'm gone. Today I decided to avoid this by putting the DND on the door and just hope that by taking it out when I leave, someone will come back through and clean. If not, whatever.
So what happened just now? A knock at my door. So I opened it up, and it's the hotel manager, just checking that I meant to put it there. WTF?
What's the fucking point of the do not disturb? And for that matter, what's the point of knocking if you're just going to come in anyway? I KNOW the walls here are thin enough for someone to hear me through the door, because I hear everything that goes on out there.
Lame.
So what happened just now? A knock at my door. So I opened it up, and it's the hotel manager, just checking that I meant to put it there. WTF?
What's the fucking point of the do not disturb? And for that matter, what's the point of knocking if you're just going to come in anyway? I KNOW the walls here are thin enough for someone to hear me through the door, because I hear everything that goes on out there.
Lame.
no subject
Date: 2008-06-20 09:55 pm (UTC)2. Why don't you have a conversation with the manager about this and tell them your schedule? If you can't talk to the cleaning person directly, the manager's your next best bet.
Good luck!
no subject
Date: 2008-06-20 10:00 pm (UTC)2. It's not that big a deal, really, just more of a WTF experience. Also it seems to be pretty standard at hotels for housekeeping to knock, and then ignore whatever response you give them.
no subject
Date: 2008-06-21 03:45 pm (UTC)