jianantonic: (Default)
[personal profile] jianantonic
I just got in from a bike ride with Emily Slye.  We went to the old Greentree or Greenleaf or whatever it's called trail, now known simply as the Rivanna trail.  It's all paved now -- was gravel when we were kids -- and it's longer than it was then.  It was nice that we went out when it was still cool out, because the high today is in the 90s.  Fun.

It was a nice little morning workout, and I still have the whole day ahead of me, which makes me feel pretty good.  Aside from getting totally fed up at the bridge club, yesterday was a pretty productive day, home improvement-wise.  We cleaned out most of the living room, got a second load of stuff ready for the recycling center, and bought the items we've been meaning to get:  new toilet seat, welcome mat, bath mat. 

Speaking of the bathroom, McKenzie accidentally shat on a guy yesterday.  Some guys have been working on the sewage lines outside our building this week, and each day they've called up on the intercom to ask us not to use the water "for the next hour."  I was in the shower when yesterday's call came, which was sort of inconvenient, but I just got out and went about my business.  McKenzie and I talked for a while, then after a long time, he asked if it had been an hour yet.  It had been two, so he grabbed a magazine and headed to the bathroom. 

He was in there for a long time, then he flushed, and about five seconds later, the intercom buzzes.  I answer and one of the plumbers downstairs says "Please don't do that again!"  I asked what he was talking about, and he said that they were having problems with the lines and some guy was in a hole looking at the pipe when McKenzie's turd came pouring out on him.  I reminded the guy that they'd said "one hour" two hours ago, so this isn't our fault, but we're sorry, just let us know when it's safe to flush again.  I feel bad for the guy, but it's also pretty hilarious.  And it's their own fault for not calling back up and asking us to wait more.


Our projects for today will be laundry and the closets, so we've got more room for storage.  I've still got a bunch of clothes in the other bedroom that I need to pack up.  We got some big clear plastic boxes, and I think we'll end up just stacking them next to the closet in our bedroom, because there's really no other place for them.  I'm thinking of taking some things to my parents' house and storing them in my old bedroom there, because I have a lot of things that I don't use a lot but I'm not willing to part with.  But I dunno...

It also would be nice to get the giant mirror attached to the giant dresser it belongs to, rather than just having it leaning against the wall as it has been for the last year and a half.  But I don't think Z and I have the skills to get that thing attached, so we may just slide it behind the dresser and forget about it for now. 

I'm not really in a mood to clean, but I always feel so much better when I see the progress we're making, so I suppose I should get to it.  That or breakfast.

Peace.

Date: 2008-07-12 05:53 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] kixeldorado.livejournal.com
cleaning is good.
*looks pitifully at the piles of stuff around her*

Also, I had this thought the other day, and figured you would appreciate it...

Poop is Zen.

Date: 2008-07-13 01:00 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] flamingophoenix.livejournal.com
Ummm...why didn't they just TURN OFF THE WATER TO YOUR APARTMENT? Those don't sound like smart maintenance people. Or maybe it just doesn't work like that in the city...

Date: 2008-07-13 01:37 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jianantonic.livejournal.com
I'm not sure it's allowed since I own the place and didn't *ask* for maintenance...

Profile

jianantonic: (Default)
Meg

February 2019

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
1718192021 2223
2425262728  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 10:43 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios