jianantonic: (Default)
[personal profile] jianantonic
Cooking pisses me off.  Yesterday, McKenzie and I went grocery shopping and bought a bunch of poor people food.  Like $1 boxes of Rice-a-Roni.  Any idiot should be able to cook this shit, right?

Well, I suck.

The instructions have four parts.  Part one says something about putting the rice-vermicelli mix in a pan.  WTF?  What is this vermicelli business?  Aside from the instructions, this word does not appear anywhere on the box.  No helpful definition, no illustration next to the word for clarity -- they just throw it out there like it's the most common thing ever.  Well, there's an unlabeled brown pouch of something in the box with the rice.  Is that the mix?  It must be, right?  Because the rice is just rice.  Rice itself is not a mix.  So I read the rest of the instructions, and it doesn't really say anything clear at all about anything.  No "pour contents of brown pouch now" or anything that would be useful.  So after putting the rice and the mystery brown bag in the pot, I start to second guess myself.  That's probably the "Special Seasoning" they talk about in part four.  But nowhere on the box are any of the parts labeled or mentioned by name, except in the instructions.  My first time through the instructions, I thought "Special Seasonings" were like whatever I wanted to add from my own little spice rack (yeah right), but then when I realized that the words were capitalized, I figured that's probably what the shit in the brown pouch is.

But why can't they just tell you this?  This is food for poor people.  Generalizing here, I know, but most poor people are not expert chefs.  Why do the instructions assume a knowledge of cooking and/or Italian? 

Well, the rice is cooking now, with the Special Seasoning already in the pot, which I'm sure is Rice-a-Roni sacrilege, and I probably just ruined my $0.50 dinner.  And I scared my husband, because of course there was cursing, and then crying, and all I want is Indian food from Himalayan Fusion tonight, but he has to play on BBO with a client so we can't go.  But if this rice sucks, I'm just going to go get carry out.

I kind of hope the rice does suck.  Then I won't have thrown a fit for no good reason, and I'll get Indian food.  But dinner will be significantly more expensive than $0.50.

Fuck cooking.  I could have more storage space in my kitchen if I got rid of my stove.

Peace.

Profile

jianantonic: (Default)
Meg

February 2019

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
1718192021 2223
2425262728  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 09:32 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios