Insomnia!

Aug. 7th, 2008 02:22 am
jianantonic: (Default)
[personal profile] jianantonic
I came home at 7:30ish and went straight to bed, exhausted, feeling like I'd zonk out at any minute.  In reality, Z fell asleep before I did, sometime around 10, and then I woke up again shortly after 1am and haven't been able to get back to sleep since.  This sucks a lot...

But I had a great day.  Z and I got more writing done, then played bridge (Matt ended up unable to make it, so Z played with me and we won the 22 table club game -- a record for this club, and impressive considering we just had a sectional).  Then A and I went to the gym where in addition to working out (arms + 40 min cardio), I caught up with Graydon and Shanon.  Shanon was the bearer of some really shitty news, but also some really happy news -- she's moving to Portland next year! 

Did I mention that *I* might be moving to Portland next year?

Okay, maybe not moving, per se, but something like spending an assload of time there.

I love Portland.  I want to keep my condo in Charlottesville, but I'm thinking that renting it out may be the best thing to do, and once the regional is over, I'll be a lot freer to move about the country, or just plain stay for awhile someplace that is not here.  And my parents are going to stop renting out the apartment over their house, and have said that we're welcome to come back and stay there for short times.  It's not all set in stone, and would actually be a huge leap for me, so we'll see what actually happens when the time comes, but I really want to spend more time in Oregon.

We're going out there for a month or so in a month or so -- haven't got all those details squared away, either.  I hope we can find a plane ticket that doesn't eat up our entire bank account.  If only there was a way to get to the other side of the country without spending so much flippin' money.

Also, I am the best wife ever.  Okay maybe not ever, but I'm McKenzie's best wife ever.  His birthday is at the end of this month, and I've been looking for back issues of The Bridge World to give him.  He collects them, and loves reading the older ones, as they are some of the best accounts of the history of this game.  We have about 2/3-3/4 of the issues from the 60s, and all the 70's-00's here, and a handful of older issues, but finding back issues from before 1965 is nearly impossible. 

The magazine came out in 1929, and when I contacted the editors about back issues, even on microfilm or anything, they couldn't help me.  I'd been asking around with no luck when finally I decided to talk to my college library.  The research librarians there helped locate the ONE library in the entire country that has a complete collection dating all the way back to 1929.  There were something like four or five libraries total that had issues older than the 50s.  I called the one with the complete collection, and while they won't loan out the magazines, they will copy them for me.  I'm paying a mint for the three 1929 issues that I've ordered, but McKenzie is going to LOVE them, and I feel so great that I tracked them down.  And now that I know they can do this for me, I'll eventually go back and get the issues from the 30s and 40s, if we still can't find any original issues.

He already knows that I'm looking for these for him, but I'm not sure if he's aware that I've been successful in my hunt, and I do want to surprise him as much as possible, even though he sorta knows it's coming.  We don't actually celebrate birthdays, really, and have agreed that birthday presents are a silly and unnecessary tradition, but I wanted to get this as a gift for him anyway and it just so happens that his birthday coincides with when they should arrive. 

I really wish I could fall asleep.  I've got shit to do today.  Mom signed up for Weight Watchers, and I'm going to go with her to her first meeting.  I think I want to join as well.  I'm doing pretty well for myself, but I do still have fluctuations that I'd prefer to eliminate, and I find that I do best with some structure.  Last year at the end of my program with Jen, I'd lost 40 pounds and was down to the same size I wore as a junior in high school (a size lower than senior year).  When she left, I promptly gained back 20 of those 40 pounds and went back up two sizes, where I hovered for most of this year, until I spent two weeks walking around in Medford and took up biking again, among other things.  I'm down 14 pounds and a size, and could squeeze myself into the next size down if forced, but I do have some pride left.  I felt great at my lowest weight last year, which is just six or eight pounds below where I am right now, but if we're being honest, I'd place my goal weight another ten or fifteen below that.  I'm not overweight now, but it would be nice to be skinny again. 

A and I have another gym date this afternoon.  We don't work out together so much, but I think just going together is good for both of us.  I know I wouldn't have forced myself to go after bridge yesterday if I hadn't already made plans with him, and I'm glad I went because I had a really good workout.  He joined Golds for just a month, but thinks he's going to switch to a different, cheaper gym at the end of the month.  I'm going to stick with Golds because I can use my membership anywhere in the country, and I sorta need that.  But A suggested that we still carpool to the gym (his new one is right near Golds) as a way to keep each other going.  That sounds really good to me, and I hope we can keep it up, though I know once he finds employment again, our schedules may not be so easy to line up. 

Maybe he'll be willing to go biking with me at the Riverview trail now that Emily's leaving (a week from today!) and I don't have a bike buddy (or a friend with a truck) anymore.  I think A has a bike. 

It sucks to be leaving right when I get into all these good habits, but I've got bridge to play.  McKenzie is waffling about just how much bridge he wants to play, though, so it looks like we may skip the Silver Spring sectional and just do Hunt Valley, possibly taking days off in the middle of the tournament.  We each have arrangements for Monday-Tuesday with different teams, and then together on Saturday-Sunday, but we've left the middle of the week open.  I'll have to find something active to do with him for some of that time.  We'll be staying with my cousin Allan for the week, and I think he's in between work and school until the end of the month, so maybe he can hang out.

Meh, okay, this is really long and rambly.  But this is what happens when it's 3am and you still can't sleep.  Maybe what should happen is I should go pour a shot of liquor.  Yeah...that usually helps. 

Peace.

That's annoying.

Date: 2008-08-07 03:02 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mczen.livejournal.com
I successfully failed to read the cut, but why tempt me like that and not just make a not-me locked post?

Re: That's annoying.

Date: 2008-08-07 03:04 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jianantonic.livejournal.com
Because I trust you, and it was 2:30am, and it won't be a secret for much longer.

Profile

jianantonic: (Default)
Meg

February 2019

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
1718192021 2223
2425262728  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 10:28 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios