jianantonic: (Default)
[personal profile] jianantonic
I had a dream I was pregnant and giving birth.  I was terrified of the pain and I didn't want a baby.  It was one of the worst dreams I've ever had.

In other news, I'm glad there's at least going to be an investigation of this, but I know nothing will come of it.  No one wants to offend the host nation and all the sponsors will be pissed if that happens.  But to me, it's obvious that the Chinese gymnasts were too young.  Not just because they look young, but because the Chinese government, as well as every other gymnastics competition they were in up until 2007, listed their birthdates as 1993 and 1994.  And the only excuse the Chinese government and team will give is that these are typos.  Yes, dozens of the exact same typo, over and over again.  Hmm.

The Olympics are bullshit.  But I still got sucked in this year, at least for the gymnastics and swimming.  And I had fun watching it, but the whole age falsification scandal is pretty infuriating.  An American woman I know who lives in China was telling me about all the ways the government restricts information to the public (a lot of the internet is blocked to people in China, and phones are not allowed to make or receive international calls during the Olympics, which is bizarre).  After what she told me, it comes as no surprise that the Chinese government would falsify documents so a bunch of 14-year-olds could win medals for them.  Would the US do it, too?  Maybe.  But I actually don't think so.

But then again, the age restriction does seem a little bonkers.  If you can't beat a 14-year-old, do you deserve the gold medal, the title of world champion?  If the sport is best suited to young teenagers, why is it in the Olympics at all, then?  So a bunch of past-their-prime athletes can shine again?  Don't get me wrong, gymnastics is my favorite sport to watch, but I do think all of this hooey is just a bunch of annoying bullshit, and I don't respect the competition. 

Anyway, time to put the negativity behind me -- I'm going to see Great Big Sea and Eddie From Ohio tonight!  ROCK ON.

Peace.

Date: 2008-08-22 02:50 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] kixeldorado.livejournal.com
We also had another theory that maybe the girls really were 16, but they were given some sort of growth stunting substance so they'd stay tiny until after the olympics.

Date: 2008-08-22 02:51 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jianantonic.livejournal.com
That's actually pretty common in gymnastics. But why would all their other official documents from previous competitions have their ages wrong then?

Date: 2008-08-22 03:50 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] capriciousbee.livejournal.com
Actually, younger girls will generally be better at gymnastics. The advent of puberty will add body fat and decrease the fat/muscle ratio. Also, curves are less aerodynamic and throw off balance. Finally, estrogens which occur at puberty decrease flexibility, so the underage girls are more bendy. So basically, in gymnastics, younger girls will almost always beat the older ones.

This is the reason the age limit was established in 1982 (or 84, I'm not sure) in the first place, because otherwise they'd be putting 10 year olds out there, and many people thought that wasn't good to be pushing children into such a public arena. And of course it was unfair to the 16 year olds...but yeah, being younger DOES give them a leg up.

Date: 2008-08-22 05:50 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jianantonic.livejournal.com
Oh I totally understand that being young is an advantage in gymnastics. What I'm saying is that I think it's bs to call someone the world champion when they're not actually the best in the world.

I also don't think 10-year-olds belong in the Olympics. So my conclusion is that maybe gymnastics shouldn't be an Olympic sport.

Date: 2008-08-22 06:55 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] photomonk2.livejournal.com
Have a great time at the concert tonight - I bet it's gonna be awesome.

Date: 2008-08-23 03:13 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] pee-truck.livejournal.com
Great Big Sea is from Canada, right? If they are the same group I'm thinking of, then I saw them in Pittsburgh before. I really enjoyed them too!

Date: 2008-08-23 12:07 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jianantonic.livejournal.com
Yep, they're Newfies. The show was fantastic!

Profile

jianantonic: (Default)
Meg

February 2019

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
1718192021 2223
2425262728  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 10:28 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios