jianantonic: (Freedom)
[personal profile] jianantonic
When we got home oh-so-early this morning, one unexpected piece of mail was a package from CafePress, which I recognized as the company from which I bought my Dick in a Box sweatshirt.  But I hadn't ordered anything from them.  It was addressed to me, but there was no return addressee, and no card inside to indicate who had sent it.  I figured maybe the shirt itself would give me a clue:

So here's what I found:

The small print reads:  PROTECT OUR REPRODUCTIVE RIGHTS  VOTE OBAMA FOR PRESIDENT
Is this some comment about my weight?  My maturity?  Some strange anonymous commentary on my lifestyle?  Unknown.  I decided to make the most of this free gift and wear it today in public.  That picture is me on my way to the gym.  

Unsurprisingly, I got some looks.  I was a little worried that this was a touch too offensive, even by my standards, but I figured not that many people would look that closely at it anyway, and it'd be a fun little experiment.  One guy at the gym stared at it for a while, read it a couple of times, then cracked a smile.  I smiled back and went about my business.  Then later he flagged me down to talk to me about it.  Turns out, he's also just returned from Oregon and has some friends out in Portland that he thinks I should meet.  He seemed like a cool guy, so hey, so far this shirt has earned me 0 dirty looks and at least one new friend.  Awesome.

As I went on with my workout, a few other people spoke to me about the shirt.  They all liked it.  My guess is someone who doesn't like it wouldn't talk to me about it.  It was a nice conversation starter, and a great replacement for my lack of liberadar (a word I just made up that doesn't come out as clearly as I'd hoped -- point being that I have a hard time judging politics by appearances, unless you're walking around in dreadlocks with a rainbow pin on your tye-dyed shirt). 

It was a fun social experiment for me.  It was refreshing, now that I'm back in what was once a very red, red state, to find so many people willing to approach me and tell me they're on my team in this election. 

I have since discovered that this shirt was a gift from my oldest brother, William.  So maybe it is a comment about my weight and maturity (he hasn't seen me since before I joined Weight Watchers), but I think it's also his way of telling me that he liked the rant I posted on Facebook.  Whatever its meaning, I appreciate the gift -- thanks William!

Peace.

Date: 2008-10-15 07:00 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] harri-cady.livejournal.com
Hey - you look fit and toned! Go Meg, on her way to the gym!

Did you get any funny reactions wearing it?

Date: 2008-10-15 07:04 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jianantonic.livejournal.com
Thanks! I've been working SO hard. My mother-in-law kept saying while we were in Oregon "It's not fair that you can do so well and lose weight even on vacation!" which I found just a touch offensive...what's not fair is that people don't realize how hard it is!

As for reactions, it was mostly just a lot of people doing double-takes and the like -- everyone who spoke to me about it was friendly:)

Date: 2008-10-15 07:07 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] harri-cady.livejournal.com
Yeah, it stinks when people make a negative comment about it in general. It's hard enough without peer pressure or whining from others!

Date: 2008-10-15 08:39 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] oobermeister.livejournal.com
thats so freaking awesome. you should wear that when we go camping....speaking of which, are you guys still game?

Date: 2008-10-15 08:41 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] oobermeister.livejournal.com
and btw, look at how ridongculously BLUE VA is

http://www.realclearpolitics.com/epolls/2008/president/va/virginia_mccain_vs_obama-551.html

clearly, VA is the new new york

Date: 2008-10-15 09:06 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] kixeldorado.livejournal.com
Take Old Lynchburg to Frye Springs, then turn left on Jefferson Park like you're going to Wayside.

On the left, there are a couple houses that have put 5 huge signs in their yards spelling O-B-A-M-A as you go down the street (both ways!)

Date: 2008-10-15 10:04 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] flamingophoenix.livejournal.com
I was astonished to see SO MANY Obama signs on the drive down to Bedford this weekend. You'd think Southwest Virginia would be a red area, but no! It was very definitely at least purple. It might have even been "blue violet," as Crayola would say. Rock on!

Date: 2008-10-16 05:18 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jianantonic.livejournal.com
But there are still more Ron Paul signs than anything else!

Date: 2008-10-17 02:15 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] donnagirl.livejournal.com
HILARIOUS. :D

Who cares why it got to you? It's awesome!

Profile

jianantonic: (Default)
Meg

February 2019

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
1718192021 2223
2425262728  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 09:23 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios