jianantonic: (Default)
[personal profile] jianantonic
This will probably be my last entry of the day -- but don't count on it or anything.  I don't know why I was in such a shitty mood earlier, but I'm feeling better now, having worked out. 

I sorta overdid it yesterday, so I was feeling pretty sore and told myself going into today's exercise that it was going to be an easy day.  I just went to the clubhouse gym, and in the continuing trend of things not going my way today, I left my mp3 player at home.  But on the plus side, I had the gym to myself, which means control of the remote and volume, so I was able to find some programming that held my attention enough to get through the workout without music. 

I've been doing a lot of my cardio on the elliptical lately because I like it best, and I feel it's the best workout for me.  I can't run for long on a treadmill and if I walk, I feel like a chump, and the stationary bike just isn't enough of a workout for me.  But it is important to mix it up, so today I only did my warmup on the elliptical, and since I had the gym to myself, decided to brave the treadmill for my real cardio.  Since I'm in taking it easy mode, I only set the speed at 5.5mph, which is a pretty slow jog for someone with legs as long as mine.  In my other attempts at running, even though I suck and have no endurance, I never let myself go slower than a 10-minute mile.  Anyway,Ilearned today that when I'm not trying so hard to be badass, I can actually run.  I did 17 full minutes of 5.5-mph jogging, and maybe could've squeezed out the final 3 minutes of the 20 minutes I'd scheduled for myself if only my show hadn't gone to commercial. 

So while it's almost certain I'll never be a runner, there's hope for me yet as a jogger.  Whoo.  I think I'll hit up the elliptical again tomorrow, but then maybe try 30 minutes on the treadmill on Thursday.  I'm sure with my headphones I could manage 20 minutes of jogging, and if I can't stretch it out to 30, well, I'll just work on building up to that point.  I really enjoy being athletic.  If the adult basketball league here weren't full of former division 1 athletes, I'd want to get back to playing ball...I feel like I'm finally strong enough to be a good post player.  Maybe there's an intramural team at UVA that would sneak me onto their roster...

Anyway...my mood is better now.  Working out always helps, even when I feel like I definitely do not want to go.  I need to remember that.

Peace.

Date: 2008-10-22 01:08 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] oobermeister.livejournal.com
17 minutes jogging is pretty damn good for the first time.

Profile

jianantonic: (Default)
Meg

February 2019

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
1718192021 2223
2425262728  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 07:58 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios