jianantonic: (God)
[personal profile] jianantonic
I woke up before 4am today.  That's early, even on east coast time!  Annoying.   There's not much to do on the internet at 4 in the morning.  I did check the latest polls here, and I'm really amused that Arizona, John McCain's home state and a state that George Bush won by a mile, is actually slipping into swing state territory.  McCain only has a five point lead there as of the latest polls.  Ha!  Basically the analysis I've heard is that McCain's only hope to win is to carry all of the Bush states, because Obama has a solid lead in all of the Kerry states.  So that means that we could know the election results by the time the east coast polls close at 7pm, if Obama wins Virginia...

Six days, y'all. 

I'm curious about the last time a major party candidate failed to carry his home state.  I could google it, but I'm feeling lazy.  If anyone else looks it up, feel free to tell me. 

My hopes are so high on this election, I'm going to be crushed if the polls are wrong.  Other than the presidential race, I'm watching a few others pretty closely:
Minnesota Senate -- I'm a huge Al Franken supporter, and I want very much for him to defeat Norm Coleman in that race.  Franken leads by less than the margin of error in those polls, so I'm biting my nails a lot over that race.
Alaska Senate -- Despite being a lying, cheating, douchebag, convicted felon Ted Stevens still has a lot of support and is keeping that race very close.  Of course I hope he loses, but the twisted part of me does want to see this race stay tight to the end, just to prove that Alaskans are a bunch of crackheads and Sarah Palin's 80% approval rating doesn't mean dick -- except maybe that morons love her.
Oregon Senate -- Jeff Merkley has a tight lead over incumbent Republican Gordon Smith.  My in-laws hate Gordon Smith, and I'd like to be represented by all Democrats when I become an Oregonian, so I'm rooting for Merkley, of course.
Virginia House of Reps, District 5 -- Virgil Goode had a 34% lead over Tom Perriello this summer, but the latest polls show that Perriello is closing the gap FAST.  It's down to something like 6 or 7 points.  Goode has held his seat for a really long time, and often runs unchallenged because it's been a really red district for a really long time.  Last year or the year before, he showed the world what a colossal hatemonger and dick he is when he raised a huge stink over a Minnesota representative taking his oath of office on the Koran instead of the Bible.  Virgil Goode is an asshole and a horrible representative, and it's long past time we fired him.  This is my home district, and I voted for Perriello.  I hope he can pull through, but I know it's going to be difficult.
I'm also hoping Prop 8 in California goes down hard, and I believe it's Florida that has a similar anti-gay rights ballot measure.  WHY -- when the economy is failing, when the country is wrapped up in two wars and tensions are high with just about every other country in the world, when most Americans can't afford health care or even groceries -- WHY do people think gay marriage is the worst thing going on in the world?  What is wrong with people's priorities?  I mean, why do people think it's a problem at all, let alone the biggest, most deserving of our legislators resources and time problem right now?  If you're against gay marriage, DON'T GET ONE.  How does anyone else's marriage affect you EVER?  I eloped -- most people didn't even KNOW I was married until it was old news.  Did that affect ANYONE?  No.  Who I marry has no affect on who you can or cannot love, fuck, enter into contracts with, or reproduce with.  I'm lucky that I'm straight and don't have to jump through hoops to marry the person I want to marry -- even though I've already shown that I'm shitty at marriage.  If you really want to protect the sanctity of marriage, then outlaw divorce (bad idea, but more logical than stopping two people in love from marrying, IMHO).  Or just find a new fucking word.  The church can have "marriage," and we'll call the legal status and rights that come with this sort of union something different.  Fine, whatever.  Separation of church and state in this country is a myth.  
/rant.

Don't get complacent, y'all.  Vote.  And if you're in District 5 in VA, for the love of everything wonderful, please vote for Tom Perriello.

Peace.

Date: 2008-10-29 02:49 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] kixeldorado.livejournal.com
Goode is an ass. A xenophobic irresponsible ass.
Who I will not be voting for. :)




Date: 2008-10-29 03:10 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] photomonk2.livejournal.com
I love your icon.

And as for the gay marriage topic itself, on primary night here in NH, I got into quite a row with a McCain volunteer and a Huckabee volunteer. To hear them, you would think the world was going to end because of gay marriage. Yet neither could produce one concrete example of how their own personal world had changed as a result. Nor have I seen such example anywhere. I've seen weak attempts, but nothing that makes any sense.

It's all so silly.

Date: 2008-10-29 03:37 pm (UTC)

Date: 2008-10-29 04:31 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] oobermeister.livejournal.com
al gore did not carry tennessee in 2000.

Date: 2008-10-29 08:43 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] beccasketch.livejournal.com
Damn. You beat me to it.
:)

Date: 2008-10-29 10:53 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jianantonic.livejournal.com
Yeah, a bunch of people reminded me of that. I'd pretty much blocked the entire 2000 election from my memory. I went to sleep that night so happy because Gore had just won Florida, then woke up only to have it all undone:(

Date: 2008-10-29 04:38 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] oobermeister.livejournal.com
these people have an article about early voting in oregon today.

http://www.fivethirtyeight.com/

thought you might be interested

Date: 2008-10-30 01:42 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] stillbigonbnl.livejournal.com
Gay marriage = clearly one of the ONLY things we agree on politically.

Date: 2008-10-31 10:22 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] agh.livejournal.com
Virgil Goode? VIRGIL? I know who not to vote for simply by the name.

Profile

jianantonic: (Default)
Meg

February 2019

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
1718192021 2223
2425262728  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 09:24 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios