jianantonic: (Default)
[personal profile] jianantonic
We made it to the semifinals of our KO with the grace of an elephant on roller skates.  We're in bracket 2 of 5 for this event, and so far our competition has been unspectacular.  We are our own biggest opponents.  We squeaked through the opening 3-way with a -8 net score, losing to an embarrassingly bad team, but making it through because they lost much worse to the team that we beat.  In round 2, we had a 44-imp (should've been 56 but for one wtf board) lead at the half, and needed every bit of that cushion.  We won by 3.  But the bottom line is that we're in the semifinals, and hopefully we play much, much better today.  We certainly can.

I've been texting our results to[info]berto23 all week, and when we made it to our first semifinal, I texted "We're in the semis," except I was using t9 on my phone and it didn't recognize "semis."  My choices were "remis" and "PENIS."  All caps, just like that.  So I suppose at some point, I put that in there.  I don't recall when or why, but it sounds like something I'd do.  I showed Matt and Brian (two of the most awesome, most friendly, and most twisted directors in the ACBL) and they got a real kick out of it.  We've been talking about the PENIS round all week.  We get a real kick out of it when bridge players start talking about the "money round," too:)  (You don't get much of a masterpoint award unless you make it as far as the semifinals, thus it is the "money round.")

I'm sad that this regional is coming to an end.  It's been great fun -- I really enjoy (most of) the Portland bridge crowd.  But just because the tournament ends, that does not put a stop to quality bridge.  Z and I are teaming with Dave and Linda in an annual trophy game next weekend, and then the weekend after that, I'm playing with Joel at the annual unit party.  We're working on convincing Adam (our teammate this week from Cincinnatti) that he wants to live here, too.  I talked to Jeremy Fournier last night, and he still wants to live here, too.  Shanon is moving here next month, and I think Ben and Danny are both still conviceable...Portland is going to be overflowing with coolness...already is...

It's been really clear all week, so I've had great views of Mts. Hood, St. Helens, Adams, and Jefferson each day.  They're so lovely!  Last night I was trying to make out the outline of Mt. Hood in the dark on our drive home.  I couldn't see it, but McKenzie could tell what I was doing and said "Doesn't it make you feel good just to know it's there?"

Yeah, it does.

 
Peace.

Date: 2009-02-21 05:02 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] oobermeister.livejournal.com
well, congrats on making it to the PENIS. most only make it as far as the EPIDIDYMIS.

Date: 2009-02-21 06:06 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] donnagirl.livejournal.com
1.) That is beautiful.

2.) Good luck in the PENIS. I hope you win the PENIS. :D I could go on for days.

(I want to visit Portland)

Date: 2009-02-21 06:26 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jianantonic.livejournal.com
Do! I'll be here most of the summer, though you know I'm always jetting off somewhere -- let me know when you might be able to come, and I'll let you know when our spare room is available:)

Date: 2009-02-21 08:13 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] hope-persists.livejournal.com
hey, i may be there sometime late may/early june. will you be around?

Date: 2009-02-21 11:50 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jianantonic.livejournal.com
I have a tournament in Virginia May 19-25th, but should be back after that.

Profile

jianantonic: (Default)
Meg

February 2019

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
1718192021 2223
2425262728  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 12:55 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios