jianantonic: (Default)
[personal profile] jianantonic
This may require two entries. I'll start with Thursday.
Thursday evening Jer and I took our finals for Dr. Abshire's REL 340 class. It wasn't bad at all, and I ended up beating Jeremy by .5 points on our final averages. I had a 93.1 and he had a 92.6. Both A's, so we're cool. But I win. Freshmen started arriving for the first summer orientation. We mingled with a few of them before going home to sleep. We had to be at school at 7am to start meeting parents and new students.

Friday: Orientation day
So, we get there on time, at 7, and breakfast isn't out. I'm tired, hungry, and grumpy. Kids start pouring in at 7:30, and we orientation leaders have yet to be served. Finally April (a really cool girl who works for our dining services) puts out breakfast at around 7:45 and apologizes to us for the delay. The OL's dash for the food. How are we supposed to spend 12 hours talking about BC without food in our tummies? One man got all uppity with us saying how rude it was of us to go before our guests. Ann Zumbro (associate dean) explained to him that we had been waiting since the wee hours of the morning and he needed to shut his trap. Ha:) At 9:30, we filed into Cole Hall for introductions and the President's speech. After that, Dean Miracle (ASSHOLE!) had written a set of monologues for four students to perform explaining campus life to the new kids. It was extremely stupid. Anyway as they're getting started, they get the microphones turned on, and Zach Brandon, for whatever reason, whispers "shit!" right into his mic. Dean Miracle (ASSHOLE!) missed it, so as the whole auditorium is laughing, he turns to Jer and says, "What happened?" Priceless. The day got off to a pretty lousy start. Jer and I had hoped to be working with honors kids, Prof Watson's group (we had already been assigned to them and everything), but a mixup had Prof. Watson coming to the second orientation instead of the first, and we were assigned to Prof. Reitsma's kids. Prof. Reitsma is the guy for whom I tutored 8 students in Spanish last semester. Nice guy, not the best Spanish prof. That's all I'll say about him. I do like him, though. Anyway. Crystal Ragan (the chick in charge of assigning groups) gives us some bullshit about how now we can't work with Watson because it wouldn't be fair to switch groups on some other OLs. Tough shit, I'm in the honors program, I want the honors kids. Not to mention Watson specifically requested to work with us. Bastards. By the end of the day we think we got it all straightened out, though. Anyway we took our group into a classroom to get to know each other. We did one of those ice breaker activities, which didn't go over very well. The only questions they really had for us were whether or not Reitsma was gay. I think that question answers itself. Anyway we did get to talk to them for a while, and though my first impressions weren't great, I really liked them all by the end of the day. I helped a future history major register for his classes, and I got to have dinner with another student and his parents. Everyone was really cool, and I'm honestly looking forward to seeing more of them in the fall.

Friday night Jer and I drove to Charlottesville to see my cousins and my parents. Lauren and Bruce and their baby Rebekah (cousins) were there and we had a ball with them. Jer and Bruce talked computers all night. It was cute. We had gone to see them because we'd heard they weren't going to be at the family reunion (Sunday), but that turned out to be a fallacy. That's ok, I enjoyed my visit.

Saturday: Wedding Day!

Saturday morning we went to Alex Wead's wedding. I barely know him and I don't know his wife, but I still balled like a baby as they said their vows. I'm just like that. I told Jer that I'm going to have to be hypnotized not to cry if I want to get through my wedding. I know I'll cry when I see everyone there, and then again as I'm saying my vows, and probably again at the reception when my maid of honor makes a toast, because my maid of honor will be Emily and she's just really good and being sentimental and making me cry. That's ok, it's cause I love her so much:)
After Alex's wedding, we headed to Staunton for Colleen Karn's wedding. Colleen was my RC on my hall two years ago, and her husband Eric is a friend of Jer's. Jer's friend Drew was the best man. The last time I saw Drew, he was busting angrily into my room with Shayne (DOUCHEBAG!) to demand Jeremy's presence at band practice. I got a better impression of him at the wedding when I saw him there, though. He's actually a great guy...it's just when he's with Shayne (DOUCHEBAG!). At Colleen's reception, we sat with Dr. Abshire and his family. They are really nice folks. I learned that Abshire is ordained. Jer and I have talked about having Dr. Scheppard (another religion prof at BC) officiate our wedding, so now I think I'd like to ask her and Dr. Abshire to do it together. For those of you going, "Meg's getting married?!" hold on. I'm not. Not any time soon. I just love weddings and I love Jeremy so I've done a lot of planning already...who's to say if it really goes the way I've planned. But I certainly hope so:)
After Colleen's reception, I was like, Jer, we're in Staunton. Your Grandma and Great-Grandma live here. Let's visit. I've met this Grandmother before, but I'd never met his great-grandma (Granny). We went to their house (they live next door to each other) and only Granny was home, so we visited her for a while. She's such a sweet old lady (90 in August), and I'm really glad I met her. I'm so jealous of Jer. He knew one of his great-great-grandmothers, four great-grandparents, four grandparents, and five of the above are still living. I only ever knew my two grandmothers, who were both just the most awesome people. I was talking to Jer about his Granny in the car ride home, and I just started crying. I cry a lot still when I think about my grandparents. It's not like I'm upset about it, I just wish they were still around, you know? I wish my mom's mom never had to go through all she went through. I'm really lucky that my family is so close. That way, I know all about those that I was never able to meet, and maybe they're somewhere watching me get to know them. I like to think so. That brings me to Sunday.

Sunday: Family Reunion
Every year, my mom's side has a big huge reunion down at a creek in Rustburg, VA. This is one of my favorite events of the year, because EVERYONE comes. All my cousins, aunts, uncles, great aunts, great uncles, and so on. My great grandmother was one of four sisters (Carwiles) who married four brothers (Driskills), so the Driskill-Carwile family reunion is a gathering of all their descendants. It's also the best meal of the year, behind Thanksgiving. I took Jeremy this year, since he already knows most of my family, so he could meet more of my extended family. He was quite a sensation with the kids. My nine year old cousin Byron begged him to help build a dam in the creek (a group of little girls was already building one and he wanted to compete). Jeremy, being quite a friend of the children, readily accepted the request. Before long, about ten little boys were surrounding Jeremy asking him where they could put their rocks. Now, every year dam-building is one of the most popular activities, but never has the Driskill-Carwile reunion seen a dam the likes of the one constructed by those little boys on Sunday. That creek went from about two inches deep to about two feet. I shit you not - those kids were in it up to their waists. All the moms thanked me for bringing Jeremy along. I was so proud of him:) I was totally prepared to have the best Monday ever, but then....

Monday: Cellular One is bullshit.
On Monday morning, I registered for class and had my first meeting with Doc about East Asia. We talked about this and that, and he basically spent an hour complimenting my intelligence. I really love talking to Doc, even if I think he's full of it sometimes. I was in a good mood when I left his office at 10am, and drove with Jer to the mall to use my gift certificate at the dollar store and pay our cell phone bill. Ugh. We go to pay, and this new girl tells us our bill is $141. Our plan costs $55, and we hardly ever use our phones, so there is no way in hell we went that much over. We get 600 anytime minutes, plus free nights and weekends, even though we never use more than 600 minutes period on any of our bills. There was just no way. This made me really mad, because for EIGHT MONTHS IN A ROW there have been errors on our bill. The worst was when we paid in cash in February and in March found out our payment had never been processed because the girl at the counter basically pocketed it. We've been able to straighten most everything out, though, because Theron, our customer service rep, knows us really well and is really cool about things. Nevertheless it's frustrating when you have to dispute every fucking bill. Grr. I won't go into all the details but basically Cell One is fucked up. Theron quit two months ago, and the new people they have there are just totally inept. I started crying in the middle of the mall yesterday because I was so frustrated about all the problems with our bills, and this chick either wasn't trying or just didn't know how to help us. I told her that there's no way we used 1500 minutes over our allowance like the bill said we did, I'm crying my little eyes out, and that bitch gets up and all she does is lecture me about moderating my usage. BITCH. Did she not hear me say I NEVER USE THE FUCKING PHONE? So we told her we weren't paying the bill, and she told us to go to the office across the street if we wanted to dispute the bill, cause they could print out a detailed description of our calls and charges, etc. So Jer dropped me off at home - I was way too pissed to go out - and he went to the office. Meanwhile, I wrote a really angry letter to corporate HQs explaining how they've been such bitches to us and how I want out of my contract because I feel like they've already broken it anyway, and I want money back for all the erroneous charges that I've just sucked it up and paid for so as not to complain all the time. If I went into the detail, I'd be here all day, but after talking to my mom, she wants me to sue them, and my mom hates people who sue people...so my point is I have a really good case against them. I prepared a report to file with the Better Business Bureau and everything. These fuckers are going down. Anyway at first I thought they'd just been super rude to me all year and not listened to me when I said I didn't want certain special features on my plan, etc...but when Jer gets back I find out it's been worse than that. He goes through the bill call by call, and find out they've been billing us during our nights (which aren't free in the plan after all, even though we were told they were) and on WEEKENDS which are supposed to be FREE ALL THE TIME NO MATTER WHAT. They'd charged over $90 on calls that should be free no matter how many minutes we've used. They also charged us for calls that didn't even connect...I'm talking phone didn't even ring. So now we have proof in writing that they're fucking people over. I felt a lot better about my case when Jer caught that, but I'm still really pissed off. Basically what we're going to do is go into their corporate HQ (it's in Staunton) and demand that they refund all of our payments since January (when we started having problems), cancel our contract (they've already invalidated it anyway so they can't charge us to cancel), but give us free service until we activate a new plan, then pay all our activation fees with our new service. If they won't do that, we take them to court, and add the fact that Jeremy spent all day yesterday doing the kind of work an accountant charges $100/hour to do, the fact that some bitch wrongfully lectured me and publicly embarassed me when her company was at fault, and misrepresentation (they lied to us about what minutes on our plan would be free, plus the charges for certain features). I think we'll get somewhere between $500 and $1000 from them...but the process is a pain. Don't get a Cellular One phone. Their plans may be cheaper, but they'll find a way to get your money.

So that's why my day sucked yesterday. I was in such a good mood before that, too. Today I'm just really tired and pissed off. I'm even madder now because I have SO MUCH proof against them and I wonder how many other people they're ripping off who don't know it. Luckily for us, I'm cheap and Jeremy's good at accounting. We'll get those bastards. Anyway that catches us up to now. I should be working.
Peace.

Date: 2003-06-24 07:41 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] cptnorr.livejournal.com
yea, stupid miracles.

oh and every fucking phone company will ream you given half a chance. you have to watch them all like a hawk. all of them do that. all the time.

fuckers

Jeremy's great grandparents

Date: 2003-07-29 03:38 pm (UTC)
From: (Anonymous)
Actually I knew seven of my great-grandparents. Five of which are sources of my DNA. What can I say? Not only do my relatives live a long time; but there is also a tendency to breed early in life.
I love Moo,
The J-Cow

Profile

jianantonic: (Default)
Meg

February 2019

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
1718192021 2223
2425262728  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 02:23 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios