(no subject)
Mar. 12th, 2004 10:40 amMy family pisses me off a lot lately. My dad actually told me that when my niece is born, I don't have permission to go see her because I have to stay here and work. I'm a fucking adult! I own my own house! It's probably the only niece I'll ever have! He also told me that joining the Peace Corps four years down the road would be irresponsible. Just because it's not completely self-serving doesn't mean it's not productive....sheesh. I'm so annoyed about this now and it's driving me nuts. It's like I've reached a point in life where I've accomplished a LOT (for someone my age), and my family is trying to tie me down closer than ever. It's ridiculous and they can suck it.
(yay for being an advice columnist wannabe)
Date: 2004-03-12 10:12 pm (UTC)About Peace Corps...I think that it's absolutely wonderful that you plan on doing it. :-) But try to look at it from your dad's point of view--he's probably worried about your financial stability while you're abroad (mortgage payments? will you be subletting/whatever your house? do you have any other loans hanging around?)--and stuff like that. So really, he's just looking out for your welfare, in his own peculiar parental way. Doesn't mean you have to listen to everything he says, but just realize that your folks love you, even if you don't agree with the way they show it.
Re: (yay for being an advice columnist wannabe)
Date: 2004-03-13 10:08 am (UTC)