jianantonic: (Default)
[personal profile] jianantonic
When I was at my brother's house in December, he pretty much let me be how I needed to be.  If I didn't want to shower or get out of my pj's all day, or not eat anything, or just sleep all the time, he didn't give me a hard time about it.  He gently nudged me to go to the gym a few times, and I did, and he suggested that I was some of his Tivoed Tosh2.0's, because he knew they would make me laugh.  There was only one rule for staying with him:  I had to make my bed every day.  

This is funny because Adrian has never made his bed in his life, but this was the thing he latched on to.  I could be a sloth and mope around as much as I needed, but I would do this one simple chore each day.  Anyone who's ever roomed with me or been to my house knows I am not a neat person.  I never make my bed.  But Adrian was being very good to me, and if he wanted the bed made, I'd do it.  It wasn't very hard for me and it did do a little tiny something for my self esteem.  When I left his house, I stopped bothering with other beds, though.  My room at my parents' place looked like all my other rooms -- as if a tornado had struck.  

McKenzie has done such an amazing job tidying our place up that I feel very guilty about any of my slob tendencies.  I've made the bed each morning, I've cleared all the dishes after every meal, I'm making sure dirty clothes get to the laundry, and I'm doing the laundry right now.  And none of this stuff is terribly time consuming if I just stay on top of it.  I don't know if these are habits I can keep up, or if I'm only managing now because it's important to be on my best behavior, but I'd like to think that I'll always feel that way -- that it's always important to be on my best behavior.  I'm not acting, I just have some sharper priorities.  I don't know if those will slack when I'm home alone, or after I've been living with Z again for many months, but I hope they don't.  And I hope that just hoping that is enough to keep me living this way.  

Yesterday was really amazing in that I took lots of time for leisure, but still managed to get all my shit done, and never felt rushed or under pressure.  I even wrote an article for Shopping, which would mean it was a more productive than average day.  I did not go to the gym, but I haven't been stressing the missed workouts.  My day felt full and good and relaxing and productive and just how I hope all my days feel.  I know they all won't, but it's nice to know that it's possible.  

We wound down our day by watching The Parking Lot Movie on Netflix.  It's a documentary about a parking lot and its attendants in Charlottesville, and as dull as that may sound, it was absolutely brilliant.  I didn't know any of the people in it, and while it takes place in Charlottesville, that's not really what I loved about it.  It's only an hour long and I strongly recommend it to anyone. 

I'm hoping to find time to get to the Gorge before Z leaves on Sunday, so I guess I should get on with my work now so that there's time this afternoon.

Peace.

Profile

jianantonic: (Default)
Meg

February 2019

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
1718192021 2223
2425262728  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 05:43 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios