jianantonic: (Default)
[personal profile] jianantonic
I didn't do much today, but it was still a fabulous day.  I woke up without a headache (yay!) for the first time in a week, so I decided to venture into town.  I walked to the MAX station closest to my house and rode into town to the Lloyd Center.  I'm still searching for a new carry-on.  I've been using my father-in-law's backpack for a few years now, and while there's nothing wrong with it, I want something more professional.  I have a bunch of press trips in the works for the next few months, and I just want to look the part a little better.  It's not just about appearances, though -- I do want to have nice things.  I want a nicer home with nicer things in it, too.  But since I haven't yet learned how to shit gold, this upgrading my life will be a gradual process.  Starting with my carry-on luggage.  

I would like something hands-free, but after looking at  a bunch of backpacks, I decided that none of them are really as professional-looking as I want, so I shifted my focus to briefcases and other such satchels.  I really like anything in a messenger bag style, but I've used those before for school, and I remember them never being as comfortable as I'd hoped.  Probably because I always way overload them, but they always hurt my shoulders and whatever boob the strap cut across, so as much as I like that style, I don't think I'll go that route.  I browsed in a bunch of luggage stores at the mall today, and my favorite piece was this, which almost matches my other luggage (I have a matching pink set of Samsonite Spinners).  This one is a Samsonite Spinner, but not pink.  I do like it and it's the right size, but I'm not sure it's what I want yet.  I'm waffly.  In the end, I probably will go with a messenger bag anyway, just because I so strongly prefer the way they look.  But we'll see.  I do want to be practical.

I was also on the lookout for a new watch.  I'm down to my last Nike Presto, which they stopped making six or seven years ago.  I've been buying them on eBay and wearing them until they die.  I think I've owned five of them -- they still have some on eBay, but the selection is dwindling and I'm not in love with the options that remain.  While it's a very cool watch and I love it, it's also not very professional looking -- more athletic, obviously, being Nike -- so I started browsing for nice watches.  I had looked at a bunch online, and was keeping my eyes out in the jewelery stores for the ones I'd liked.  Fred Meyer Jewelers had two of my favorites, and my favorite one just happened to be on sale for 50% off.  So I got this.  I don't really like the idea of spending much money on a watch, but this one came with a lifetime warranty, so if it ever breaks I can just replace it.  And it's Eco-Drive, so it doesn't need a battery.  Yay.  I really like it.

Most of the clothing stores had all their spring stuff out, and the winter clothes were either all gone or picked over, so I didn't bother trying on anything today.  This was more of a get-out-of-the-house kind of trip than a buy-stuff trip.  Though I guess I did spend a good chunk on that watch.  I also bought a sandwich and a pair of purple Chucks.  I've started a new thing with my money.  I've been tracking every cent I spend in a spreadsheet, and I decided that whenever I make a really unnecessary purchase (basically any clothes, shoes, or non-survival items), I put that same amount of money into savings.  Money hasn't been a big worry for me in a while -- I'm careful about it always, but I can generally afford to buy the things I want to buy -- but I do think it's a good policy to not spend the entirety of a month's paycheck on frivolous things.  So with this new "savings matches frivolous expenses" plan, no more than half of my cash flow will go toward shit I don't really need.  Writing that out makes it sound bad -- but I'm not talking entire paychecks going to DSW or anything.  Every month, all our bills are covered, and we add to savings all the time, but I do have a tendency to spend most of what's left over after that.  Which is fine, because my financial priorities are in the right order, I'm just adding more weight to the savings side.  And even though I'm going to move the money over to cover my day's expenses, I still felt a little silly about buying another pair of shoes, so I signed into work on the Sunday night of a 3-day weekend and wrote an article.  About shoes.  TOMS Shoes.  And being the shoe whore that I am, I sent that article right to the media relations team at TOMS, just so they'd know I'm plugging their product, and if they feel like putting me on the list of people who get free shit to review, well, that's just fine with me.  :)

After I got home, I got a call from Emily G, and I heard her say "I have some news" before my phone cut off.  Reason #147 why we're moving:  no cell reception here.  So she texted me to say "you can probably guess."  Well, uh, when people say things like that, they're either getting married or they're knocked up, so I asked her which it was.  Chris proposed to her today!  They've been together for almost 8 years now, so it's long been a given that they'd get married some day, and even now that the engagement is official, the wedding date is still pretty much the same as it always was:  "sometime after Chris finishes his PhD."  So two years or so.  But it's still exciting!  Yay!  Chris made a really sweet, but not overly sappy, big romantic surprise of the whole thing, and it's just perfect.  I'm so happy for them.  Being with them in December was the best I'd felt in a long time -- they're just the best friends ever, and I love them both so much, and even though this really changes nothing at all, it's still all kinds of exciting for me :)  

And my cousin Laura is marrying her awesome fiance in two weeks, and I'm super excited about that, too!  Huzzah for big parties with lots of my favorite people :)  

Date: 2011-02-22 05:29 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] pinkhorizons.livejournal.com
Lol- if you ever do figure out how to shit gold, please, do share ;)

Nice watch! I've had a stainless steel citizen with eco drive since 2001, and it's still tickin and looks nice. I've been pleased with it; hope yours works out just as well!

Profile

jianantonic: (Default)
Meg

February 2019

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
1718192021 2223
2425262728  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 10:03 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios