(no subject)
Apr. 25th, 2011 04:05 pmToday has been great, but it's far from over and I am exhausted. I started by sort of getting back into my work groove with this post:
What to Carry On: Ten Things to Take With You on the Plane
As always, tweets and likes are much appreciated.
Then Gail and I MAXed into town to do some Portlandy things: Voodoo Doughnuts, food carts, Powell's, and Pioneer Place Mall. Voodoo was closed for renovations! The other location is open, though, so I'll take her there tomorrow or Wednesday. You can't come to Portland and not get VD. She was awed by the food carts, and to be honest, I was too, because it's been a long time since I've done that for lunch and it's so amazing. I got Thai food and a nutella crepe for dessert. We walked around downtown for a while, and the weather alternated between rain and sunshine, and sunshiney rain for most of the afternoon, but it was a really nice day overall. We did some shopping -- I tried on a $300 dress for shits and giggles, and found a pair of purple shoes that I really want to own, but somehow managed to abstain from buying them. I did get a cute new pair of plaid shorts. Gail said they made my butt look great, so I had to buy them. Duh.
We took the MAX back to my place and have been chilling out for a little while. I told her we should do Burgerville for dinner, and she looked at me like I had an extra head. The vegetarian who keeps raving about all the great local food options wants to go to a place called BURGERVILLE?! Why, yes, she does. Burgerville is one of my all-time favorite restaurants. It's a local chain, and they serve all local, fresh products, so their menu changes seasonally, and they're so green and progressive and I just fucking love that restaurant. They have lots of veggie options, too. It is one of the places I will definitely take you if you visit me in Portland.
Showing visitors around the city always makes me fall a little more in love with it. Who else wants to come visit me?