(no subject)
Jun. 19th, 2011 09:22 pmToday was a lovely day of doing nothing. Z and I walked to a restaurant for breakfast, then came back and crashed. I went into the bedroom to give him a hug, and next thing I knew I was waking up from a nap. I have no idea how long I was asleep. I don't think very long, but it felt great! I played a lot of bridge with Zac, honed in on some particularly bad habits that I want him to eradicate, and wrote him a dissertation on doubles. We played four or five speedballs today -- I think five? The first three were disasters, but the last two we were 2nd and 1st, so we finished strong. I really love teaching him because he's smart enough that I don't have to give up on anything because he just won't get it, and I feel like he really understands my analysis. And I don't have to suck up to him. We've won like 30 points together online, which is a kind of shameful amount (we've only been playing for like six weeks). I really hope he'll start coming to real tournaments soon.
I spent some time on the job search today. Turned in a few more resumes...but these are still all backup plans. The hiring process is really dragging at the job I want, but I do think I'm still likely to get that gig. I just hope it's not another two months before I know, you know?
I spent some time on the job search today. Turned in a few more resumes...but these are still all backup plans. The hiring process is really dragging at the job I want, but I do think I'm still likely to get that gig. I just hope it's not another two months before I know, you know?
The Mountain Goats were really great last night. The venue was like 110 degrees, but it's the most fun I've ever had while being that uncomfortable. The lead singer had spent a few years living in Portland, so he had some great stories for us. The one thing I really hated was how so many fans would shout out requests. For one, bands write set lists before they come on stage. In pen. They've already chosen what they're going to play, so shut up and enjoy it. If you only want to hear one song, just go home and listen to the CD. Two, the Mountain Goats have like 40 albums. If you have a serious request, email it before the show or something, but for fuck's sake, calling it out is just like saying "I don't wanna hear what you wanna play." Why go to a concert at all? I don't know how all performers feel about it, but I know some of them definitely hate that shit. I like it when they respond with something bitchy and witty -- usually that shuts up the hecklers. So I guess if they don't retort, they don't mind, and I shouldn't either? It just annoys me. I feel bad for the performers, and I didn't buy concert tickets to feel bad.
But anyway I had a great weekend. Tomorrow is a day to get a lot of work done, and then go celebrate Grampa's birthday in Salem.