jianantonic: (Default)
[personal profile] jianantonic
As expected, work sucked yesterday. I know if I go into it with those kind of expectations, it's my own fault for not making the best of it, but dammit I am tired of doing that. Making the best of it gives more credit to some people than they deserve, and I'm tired of it. Jeremy is working 7 shifts a week (not necessarily 7 days) at the restaurant now, so we'll see if he can keep that up. If he can, I'm outta there. I could get as many as 24 guaranteed hours at front desk, and probably even full time if I wanted it - for now, not really. I get to work there tonight, so no ADF today. That's a happy thing.

Yesterday at work, there was a new girl. I say girl, but the woman is at least 70. Janet said she's got 30 years of jewelry experience. The woman doesn't know shit about jewelry or even enough to operate our computer system. She worked for 30 years at Belk in the silver jewelry department. The only thing she did with it was open the cases for people who wanted to buy it. You know, the five dollar crap with CZs in it. So we now have ANOTHER bump on the log at our store, earning a wage that even a fraction of which could be tacked onto my salary to make me a much happier camper. She's another one of Janet's girlfriends. But Janet won't even train her. She told me that whenever I have a sale to ring up, let Shelby do it so she can learn. There is a lot to our computer system. I'm well trained and very good at it, so I can usually ring up a sale in about three minutes. For someone who's just learning, it can take more than 10. Does Janet let her ring up HER sales? No. My guess is because she wants her initials to show up next to every sale, and mine to be absent because the octogenarians are ringing up all of my sales, and this way, Randy will have no way of checking the sales records to see that I do 80% of our business single-handedly! Grr. Well, he'll notice when I'm gone and the sales drop 80%.

Why do I always end up bitching about work? There are other things in my life. It's just that I hate work so much it grates on me all day long. I hate that! I'm a philosophy major, there are lots of great things in my head! I should think about them more. Sigh. Anyway, it's off to read some Rorty or Kierkegaard or something like that.
Peace.

Belk?

Date: 2004-09-21 06:22 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] qparom.livejournal.com
Are you dissing Belk? Good heavens!
110% just kidding

Re: Belk?

Date: 2004-09-21 07:12 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jianantonic.livejournal.com
Not dissing Belk, just the quality of knowledge gained from 30 years of experience there.

I was thinking about you this morning, Camm, about how you never post anymore but how you're probably keeping up with me anyway by reading all my entries:) But I want to hear some about your life so spill.

Re: Belk?

Date: 2004-09-21 07:29 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] qparom.livejournal.com
No, I know - I think Belk actually makes one dumber over time.

Exactly right. I always check my friends page, but I'm working up the motivation to post sometime soon. I feel like I never quite finished up with Russia, so I'm dreading a post, but I guess I can just kind of skim through things and then I'll be set. Soon. I promise!

Profile

jianantonic: (Default)
Meg

February 2019

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
1718192021 2223
2425262728  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 04:53 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios