(no subject)
Dec. 11th, 2011 04:37 pmI ran the 5K and completed it running the whole way, so I am a happy girl. My time was slower than Earlysville by about 20 seconds, though, which was a bummer. I did have to stop and tie my shoe TWICE. So minus shoe tyings, it was about as fast as I ran three weeks ago. I'm pleased with it, because until I was there doing it, I really didn't think I'd have the endurance to run the whole way. Getting back on WW has really felt like a fitness setback, but maybe the real issue was that I was doing all my training at 5am. Luckily, the race was at 10am, so I was able to have a small breakfast beforehand and felt pretty good for the run. There were hills, but I wouldn't call it hilly, and the course was beautiful. The one annoying thing about it was that there were lots of hairpins where the course basically passed itself for a little while -- and each time, the turnaround point was always so much farther away than I was prepared for. The worst was at the end, when I saw the finish line and started sprinting toward it, only to realize I had to run another quarter mile -- out and then double back before hitting the finish line from the OTHER side. So I was unable to maintain my sprint through the end, but I was pleased that I had enough gas in the tank to even pick it up at the end, whereas in Earlysville, I definitely did not.
In running, speed isn't really a goal of mine so much as endurance. I want to be able to run longer distances, and I don't care how fast that running is. But for a little while, I would like to do more 5K's, and improve my pace a bit. Then maybe by summer I'll try a longer race?
I still don't love running, but I love the way I feel when I finish.
no subject
Date: 2011-12-12 01:24 am (UTC)Remember that race I wanted to do with you and Laura a couple years ago? The one around the top of Mt. Hood? We should do that whenever I have money to travel again! I don't remember the distance on that one, but I still think it sounds like fun!