jianantonic: (Seahorse)
This dog. I love him...but I don't like him very much. He's like an overly clingy significant other who shits on your floor. I've been trying to crate train him (as required by the rescue), and it's going terribly. The first two nights, I slept in the same room with his crate so he could at least see me and relax somewhat. It helped a little but he still whined and barked every now and then throughout the nights. After that I decided to just leave his crate downstairs and sleep upstairs in my bed with some music playing to drown out the barks. He has literally barked ALL NIGHT LONG since then. It's like a car alarm that won't turn off, only somehow louder. Even with headphones on, my door shut, and a fan by my head, it keeps me awake. And since he barks all the time, I can't tell the difference between "let me out I have to poop" and "hahaha you'll never sleep again, sucka!" which has led to a frustrating combination of several unproductive 5am walks as well as several surprise turds on my floor. I would like to give it more time, but I have airbnb guests all month, and I need to provide them with a quiet, not-shit-covered place to stay. So I'm taking Chipper back to the rescue tomorrow :( He's so cute and just a puppy, so I'm sure he will get adopted quickly, but I still feel terrible about having to give up on him. The folks in charge of the rescue are totally understanding, so that makes me feel a little better, but I still feel bad for the pup. It will be nice to get some sleep again, though.
jianantonic: (Seahorse)
I have a new foster puppy, Chipper. I picked him up on Saturday. He's teeny tiny, and very sweet. He's a lot like Ozzie, really. But he's his own dog, too. I'm being more disciplined about crate training than I was with Oz -- I was such a sucker for that dog's whines that I just never could keep him in there. But that ended up making life much more difficult, so with Chipper I'm being more firm about the crate at night. I've only had him two nights so far, though, and it hasn't been entirely smooth. The first night I thought he was all settled in, but then he'd wind up and bark again when I thought he was down for the night. I eventually came downstairs and slept on the couch next to the crate, and he was pretty chill then. Last night, I tried putting him in the crate and then hanging out downstairs for a while, long enough for him to chill, but he was anxious the whole time he was in there, and started barking a lot as soon as I went upstairs. I tried to let him "cry it out" but he was still barking after an hour, so I brought the crate upstairs this time. My bed is really high up, so he couldn't see me from the crate and still whined. I could talk to him, though, or put my hand down, and he'd settle a little bit. But he was still pretty whiny all night. I've heard that crate training can click anywhere in the 2-10 night window, so I don't think this is a permanent situation, but for now it's kind of not very fun.

This dog is cute and cuddly and sweet, and everything I would want in a dog, but I'm finding my heart isn't really in it. Mostly I'm just stressed about taking care of him -- either leaving him home but coming back frequently enough to let him out to eat, pee, etc, or what I'll do with him while we're out. You can't run a lot of errands with a dog. I also have an Airbnb guest right now, and I'm concerned that Chipper is a bother to him. So I don't feel like I'll want to adopt him, or any other dog. It just doesn't fit my life well. But I'm happy to foster and give them love while I've got them.

I've got lunch plans with McKenzie's mom again today. I'm looking forward to seeing her, hoping I don't weep the whole time...but then I've got therapy after that so the timing is good, anyway.

Profile

jianantonic: (Default)
Meg

February 2019

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
1718192021 2223
2425262728  

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 03:47 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios