jianantonic: (Seahorse)
Painting my own house sucks. It's much easier to do someone else's. I'm sure there's lots of psychology theory behind that. But anyway after 2.5 days of intermittent work, we're done with the two small bedrooms. That leaves the hallway and the master bedroom to do, which I really don't wanna. The master has vaulted ceilings and is HUGE, so I know it's gonna take forever, and also it's only just now occuring to me that I don't have a ladder tall enough, so unless I can borrow one tomorrow, I can't really do it anyway. I guess I could also buy one. It wouldn't be the worst thing to have an extension ladder. But they're spendy and I don't think I could get it home from the store in my Prius.

Uber did a driver incentive thing for this weekend, so I went out driving last night for a few hours. I almost never do night time driving, and usually only log in long enough to do three or four rides, then call it good and go home. But I wanted to take advantage of the incentives and I was feeling good, so I did. Altogether I made about $30/hour, which is definitely a good wage, but also it felt like such a grind. It felt like I was out there much longer than I was, and when I came home, I wasn't tired enough to go to sleep, so I was up until 3am, and then tired all day today, and just blah. But I've got nothing better to do tonight, so I'll go back out for a little while and see how it goes. It's crazy how many people I was picking up at midnight last night to take TO their evening plans. Like, most nights, midnight is the latest I would even dream of staying out. But these folks were just getting started. Damn.

Taborgrass is back in session for the fall, and so far I'm keeping up well enough with the intermediate class. I practiced really hard all week and was really pleased at how much I was able to improve on the one tune I've been working on. When I first looked at the music, it was a "yeah...haha, no" situation, but after breaking it down and gradually building up to it, I had it more or less figured out in a week. The next song is harder still, though, so we'll see. I'm still loving my instrument, though.
jianantonic: (Seahorse)
I drive for Uber to make extra money. Just a few hours here and there when I have holes in my schedule and energy. I never drive the busiest times (weekend nights) because I have zero interest in shuttling around a bunch of drunk strangers. But I've felt kinda lazy and down on myself for being so lazy this week, and after a full day of being lazy (in bed almost all freaking day), I decided I'd make up for it by doing some Friday night Ubering. Make some money to offset the self-loathing.

I picked up my first rider at 7:30ish. He was new to the area and when I mentioned I was a Realtor, he asked for my card. Yay! I hope he contacts me. I was feeling really good about that. Then I immediately got a call for my next ride. I picked up a sweet young family at Washington Park, and they wanted a ride back to their Airbnb in SE, about 20 minutes away. We talked the whole way about their visit and what fun they're having, and their 3-year-old was sweet and funny and then about 3 blocks away from the destination, he puked EVERYWHERE. It was after 8pm by then, so anywhere I could take my car to clean it was closed. When we got to their place, the parents were super cool about cleaning it up, and they did a decent job. They were really apologetic, and I actually felt bad for them -- because Uber is going to hit them with a big fat cleaning fee. I made an appointment to take my car in tomorrow morning, and hopefully the detailer will be able to get the puke smell out. But in the meantime, I was 45 minutes away from home with a car that smelled like barf. Overwhelmingly so. I couldn't pick up any more riders -- I could barely stand to be in my car anyway at that point. I stopped at the nearest drugstore and got some air fresheners and face masks so I wouldn't have to smell it directly on my drive home, but they weren't much of a match for the powerful stench. I was so grossed out that when I got home, I came inside and just sort of sat in the dark doing nothing for an hour. Just like in shock.

So much for making good money tonight, or making up for a day of being lazy. So much for avoiding problems with Uber by only driving during the day. Jesus. 

Profile

jianantonic: (Default)
Meg

February 2019

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
1718192021 2223
2425262728  

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 06:30 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios