Aug. 16th, 2006

jianantonic: (Default)
So, I'm still stressed as hell, but there have been a few things to at least temporarily ease my stress. I'll start with the stressy stuff and end on the lighter notes.

I left work early last night to go to the house with my mom and work on it some before meeting my realtor to sign the listing agreement. We got there, and I was pretty deflated. There was still a lot that needed to be cleared out, touched up, etc...basically the house needs several more hours of touchup-type work before it's ready to show. Meaning, my work there is not done. I'll have to go back at least once this week, meaning I can kiss the notion of sleep GOODBYE. Dammit. So Mom and I worked, and I was very unproductive, because I was an emotional wreck, but lucky for me, my mother is the uberdomestic, and she was able to do a lot in a short time. Unfortunately, part of what she was doing was criticizing me and scolding me and Goddammit, Mom, enough. So it was a mixed blessing to have her there.

Patti got there at 6:30 and we went over the listing agreement. We'd hoped to list it this summer at 240K, but looking at the market, that's just not an option right now, so we decided that 225K was a good number. I also have to be willing to drop the price by about 10K if we don't get any bites in the first month. I don't want to, but as long as I'm still able to afford the condo, I'll sell it for what I have to. I can afford to drop it a bit, but I'm hoping I won't have to...I was also hoping that Patti would put my fears to rest by walking in and oohing and aahing and telling me not to worry, even though the market is crap, I've got everything in my favor, from low price to new paint to great location, etc. That's what others have been telling me to try and cheer me up, anyhow. Well, not Patti. While she agrees that all those are good things, she warned me that the market really is crap right now and she's not super confident. I always liked her because she was honest. I appreciate it now, because at least it means I'm not crazy. I'm justifiably worried. I'm worried that it won't sell, and I'll be worried until I get a contract, at which point I'll be worried the contract will fall through, so basically I'm going to worry until it's a done deal and that's just the way it's going to be. And it sucks.

But Patti did get some really great pictures, and she's going to advertise the hell out of it - something like six different magazines and newspapers, 4 websites, plus she's going to try and do open houses every weekend. People, if you want a realtor in the Shenandoah Valley, look no further than Patti McInerney. The woman is my hero. She's incredible. She did say that we did a great job with all the fixups, and she's going to start showing it on Sunday, since the listings will all be released on Saturday. Unfortunately, to get it ready, I'm going to have to take a whole day off work, I'm afraid...so I'm going to ask my boss if he doesn't mind me missing tomorrow. We had a little talk last week and I have every reason to believe he'll be fine with it; I just feel bad for missing so much time. :(

So, the lighter notes...
In cleaning the kitchen, my mother found a shopping list that she had dictated to a certain person who was helping me with the house last week who happens to be dyslexic. My mother had asked him to go to Home Depot and pick up cabinet hinges, screws, and caulk. The list looked like this:
Things for Nan:
cabnit
scroows
cock

I haven't laughed so hard all week. My certain dyslexic friend is a good sport about it, and he didn't even get mad when I called him up to laugh directly at him for going to the store for some cock for my mom. I know he can't help his spelling issues. And he's still one of the smartest people I know in spite of it all, so please don't think I'm making fun of dyslexia. The laughs have been so few and far between lately, you have to give me this one.

The other good news is that the for sale sign is up now in our front yard, and on our way out, I saw someone drive by, point at the sign, and get an excited look in their eyes. It's a start, right? :)

So, in conclusion, someone please buy my house. (No, I don't have the pictures yet. My realtor is going to get them to me by Friday.)

Peace.
jianantonic: (Default)
Because I figured it might cheer me up, and I'd like to have these all in once place so I don't forget them all the time.

Oh, the hilarity )

Okay, if any of you, particularly any of you who hung out with me in 12th grade, can think of some that I left out, just put 'em in the comments.

Peace.
jianantonic: (Default)
People who were in my circle in 8th grade, read this:
http://www.dooce.com/archives/daily/05_16_2005.html

I love dooce.com, and I've been working my way through the archives lately. That's what I read today, and it made me think of 8th grade.

Other random 8th grade thoughts:
Sitting during the Macarena at dances
We beat Appomattox!
Being Ben W's fake girlfriend all year, then actually going out with him for all of two days once we "made it official," and by that I mean he asked me and I said yes and LITERALLY NOTHING MORE.
Mrs. Ayars (Emily loves Mrs. Ayars.)
They Might Be Giants
My cousin Allan
The curse
Games of truth or dare at Aviva's (but I totally missed the best one, which was actually in 7th grade, because I had to take the stupid SAT's the next day but really wtf did it matter because it was fucking 7th grade and hello? no one cares how you do on the SAT's when you're 12).
Emilys #1, #2, and #5 SO MANY EMILYS
Abortion debates at the lunch table
Vegetarianism debates at the lunch table
Mrs. Gough
The Aviva-Ben saga. 8th grade drama at its finest.
Anyone else got one?

Peace.

Profile

jianantonic: (Default)
Meg

February 2019

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
1718192021 2223
2425262728  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 10:34 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios